Music: Charter Oak Jazz featuring Brett Bottomley Wed., Apr. 4; also New Haven Improvisers Collective

Charter Oak Jazz, featuring Brett Bottomley, plays Best Video Performance Space Wednesday, Apr. 4. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5. Opening will be Brett Bottomley with colleagues from New Haven Improvisers Collective.

Charter Oak Jazz is a Hartford-area jazz combo that plays both jazz standards and more modern works, including originals, keeping the tradition alive. Charter Oak Jazz currently plays chiefly as a trio: Brett Bottomley on Chapman Stick, Alec McCandless on Piano, and Bob Ahern on Drums.

Internationally known Chapman Stick player Brett Bottomley began his musical journey as a teenager on the electric bass. After several years playing in successful rock bands in the New Haven area, Brett discovered Jazz and enrolled at the Berklee College of Music in Boston. While at Berklee, Brett played Donny McCaslin, Julian Joseph and Danielo Perez, among others. After graduating from Berklee, Brett decided to pursue a career in music education and was accepted into the music ed program at the Hartt School of Music as an upright bass player. At Hartt, Brett played in Jackie McLean’s advanced ensemble and performed with notable jazz musicians including Art Taylor, Eric McPherson, Abraham Burton and Jimmy Greene. For the past 15 years, Brett has dedicated himself to the mastery of the Chapman Stick and its incorporation into the jazz world. Brett has become one of the most sought after performers and teachers of this specialized instrument, playing in regular showcases from Los Angeles to New York, Boston, and the United Kingdom.

Alec McCandless plays keys for Charter Oak Jazz. Alec came to Jazz through the Blues – a not uncommon route, and hasn’t looked back since. A professional educator (and the band’s manager) during the day, Alec’s passion in the off-hours is seeking inspiration on the ivories from Horace Silver, Oscar Peterson, Miles Davis, Duke Ellington, Mary Lou Williams, and Cedar Walton. Alec studies with Matt DeChamplain and is a regular participant in jazz programs run by the Berklee College of Music, Arturo O’Farrill (Lincoln Center’s Afro Latin Jazz Orchestra) and Jamey Aebersold (University of Louisville).

Bob Ahern began playing drums at the age of 3. Inspired by his father Bob Sr, drummer with Woody Herman and Charlie Spivak, Bob became completely devoted to mastering the drums. At the age of 10 Bob won a local talent show. This was the beginning of several years participating in regional and national drum contests. At 17, Bob was runner up in the Slingerland Louis Bellson National Drum Competition, from a field of over 20 thousand contestants. After many years of performing with some of the finest Jazz and Big Bands , Bob settled in Connecticut where he gained National prominence as a Drum Corps arranger and percussion composer. One of Bob’s proudest accomplishments was when he was invited to perform in several drum clinics and performances with some of the greatest drummers in the world, most notably Louis Bellson, Dennis Chambers, Joe Morello, Marvin “Smitty” Smith and Roy Burns. Bob’s greatest influences are his dad, Bob Sr., and Buddy Rich.

The New Haven Improvisers Collective is an ever expanding group of musicians in New Haven, CT. They host monthly workshops, present performances of NHIC members and visiting like minded folks. They also get together to form particular groups to play particular music in a particular moment.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Wednesday, Mar. 28. CLASSICAL GUITAR: MAX STEINHOFF

• Thursday, Mar. 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: TERRI & ROB DUO, R/S EQUINOX

• Friday, Mar. 30. BLUES ROCK: VANGE DURST; JAZZ/FOLK/ROCK: SEMAPHORA

• Tuesday, Apr. 3, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Wednesday, Apr. 4. JAZZ: CHARTER OAK JAZZ FEATURING BRETT BOTTOMLEY; NEW HAVEN IMPROVISERS COLLECTIVE

• Thursday, Apr. 5. POWER POP: THE MOLD MONKIES (2 SETS! MINI-CD RELEASE!)

• Friday, Apr. 6. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR, LITTLE SILVER

• Saturday, Apr. 7, Noon-2 PM. COFFEE & CONVERSATION WITH STATE SEN. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE MARTIN LOONEY & STATE REP. JOSH ELLIOTT

• Sunday, Apr. 8, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Apr. 11, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Apr. 12. FOLK: FLINT LADDER

• Friday, Apr. 13. BLUEGRASS/AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Sunday, Apr. 15. STAND UP FOR STEVE SUNDAY

• Wednesday, Apr. 18. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANNA MAY; PATRICK DALTON

• Thursday, Apr. 19. ACOUSTIC ROCK: RICHARD NEAL with THE BIRDMEN (rescheduled from Mar. 2)

• Friday, Apr. 20. BLUEGRASS: MATT FLINNER TRIO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Apr. 21. FOLK/BLUES: WASHBOARD SLIM & THE BLUE LIGHTS PRESENTS AN EVENING WITH 4 CT BLUES/ROOTS DIVAS—LAUREN AGNELLI, SANDY CONNELLY, JILLIAN GREY & LYNN MALAVOLTI

• Monday, Apr. 23, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Apr. 24, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Apr. 25. BLUES/FOLK: CODA BLUE

• Thursday, Apr. 26. INDIE ROCK: FIELD DAY, AMERICANA: LOVE LOVE

• Friday, Apr. 27. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS w/ TONY PURRONE

• Saturday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: BUDDIE (from Philadelphia)

•Tuesday, May 1, 8 AM-Wednesday, May 2, 8 PM. THE GREAT GIVE® ONLNE FUNDRAISER

• Wednesday, May 2. TRIBUTE TO JONI MITCHELL’S “HEJIRA”: JACK VEES

• Thursday, May 3. BLUES ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, May 4. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: THE BOSSA NOVA PROJECT feat. ISABELLA MENDES

• Sunday, May 6, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, May 9, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, May 11, 7 PM. STATE OF THE NATION: PROTEST MUSIC CABARET

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, May 17. INDIE ROCK: HOUSE SPARROW (MA), PROCEDURE CLUB, PERENNIAL

• Friday, May 18. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Sunday, May 20, 6 PM. INDIE ROCK: FUTURE TEENS, more TBA

• Monday, May 21, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, May 23. JAZZ: BOTTOMLEY/SOUZA/MORRISON

• Thursday, May. 24. BLUES ROCK: JOE MILLER & THE HIPSHAKERS

• Friday, May 25. ACOUSTIC OLD-TIMEY/SWING: THE RED HOTS

• Tuesday, May 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Sunday, June 3, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, June 15, 7:30 PM. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE & THE DIRTY BOOTS; ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Thursday, June 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JACOB JOHNSON (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Wednesday, July 25, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: TOWN MOUNTAIN (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Aug. 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Nov. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: KENNY & AMANDA SMITH (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Dec. 7, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)