Music: Church Sects play Thurs., Feb. 26, at 8 PM

Church_Sects_WebChurch Sects play the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Feb. 26. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Church Sects is New Haven based foot-stompin’ bluegrass (or “newgrass” if you want to be pedantic). Featuring Chris Kiley on banjo & acoustic guitar, Jesse Newman on fiddle, and Mike Russo on stand up bass, Church Sects draws from bluegrass, folk, punk, & alt-country to make music that will get you hootin’ & hollerin’.

Chris Kiley is a singer/songwriter out of Bethany, CT, who previously played in Lion’s Teeth. He grew up in Seymour, CT and was musical from a young age. He started playing the guitar in 1997 and was writing songs by 2001. He has played countless shows at coffee shops and bars in Connecticut, New York, Massachusetts, and Vermont. He now lives in the greater New Haven area.

Jesse Newman is a solo composer and avid violinist working from central Connecticut (formerly Troy NY and New York City). When not playing in Church Sects and the group Olive Tiger, his eclectic brand of accessible laptop music is inspired by house techno, trance, drum and bass, industrial, and classical music. During performances, his songs are accompanied by live electric violin with distinct digital processing, setting new boundaries for instrumental electronica.

Drummer Mike Russo also plays in Tanuki Suit.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Feb. 20. INDIE ROCK: THE MOUNTAIN MOVERS

• Monday, Feb. 23. FILM SCREENING: “CRIMES AND MISDEMEANORS”

• Thursday, Feb. 26. BLUEGRASS: CHURCH SECTS

• Friday, Feb. 27. FUNK/ROCK: HOLIDAY PING

• Monday, Mar. 2. FILM SCREENING: “THE SWIMMER”

• Wednesday, Mar. 4. THEATRICAL READING: “COZY BEACH” by STEVE BELLWOOD

• Thursday, Mar. 5. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Mar. 6. JAZZ: NICK DiMARIA WiRED

• Monday, Mar. 9. FILM SCREENING: “GRAN TORINO”

• Wednesday, Mar. 11. ROCK: ROPE, BOP TWEEDIE

• Friday, Mar. 13. BLUEGRASS: THE WOOL HATS STRING BAND

• Monday, Mar. 16. FILM SCREENING: “NOW, VOYAGER”

• Wednesday, Mar. 18. MODERN ROCK SPOKEN WORD SONGSTRESS/INDIE FOLK ROCK: SHADOW & COMPANY

• Thursday, Mar. 19. RAGTIME/BLUES: THE RED HOTS

• Friday, Mar. 20. ALT-COUNTRY: MERCY MEADOWS

• Monday, Mar. 23. FILM SCREENING: “UP IN THE AIR”

• Monday. Mar. 30. FILM SCREENING: “A LATE QUARTET”

• Thursday, April 2. ROCK/POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, April 3. AVANT-GARDE: ZERO DOLLAR

• Thursday, Apr. 9. 150th ANNIVERSARY OF APPOMATTOX/FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, Apr. 10. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, April 17. WPKN BENEFIT

• Thursday, Apr. 23. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC MUSIC: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, May 1. FILM FEST: “A DARK ROOM”

• Wednesday, Aug. 26. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS