Music: Danielle Ate the Sandwich, CK, GlumPuppet perform Tues., Sept. 27

Danielle Ate the Sandwich, aka Danielle Anderson, plays Best Video Performance Space on Tuesday, Sept. 27. The show starts at 7:30 PM and the cover is $10. Local multimedia group GlumPuppet opens with a video and singer-songwriter CK follows with a short set before Danielle Ate the Sandwich performs.

Danielle Ate the Sandwich selfie at Best Video in 2015.

Danielle Ate the Sandwich selfie at Best video in 2015.

Danielle Ate the Sandwich is the stage name of indie-folk, songwriter, Danielle Anderson. Danielle is best known for her homemade and quirky YouTube videos and her recent work, composing the original soundtrack to the HBO documentary film “Packed in a Trunk: The Lost Art of Edith Lake Wilkinson.” Her music career began modestly at open mic nights in Fort Collins, Colorado, and was unexpectedly jumpstarted by the popularity of her YouTube videos, which showcase her songs and silly personality. The true power of Danielle Ate the Sandwich, however, is her ability to sing stories both grand and small, with sweet vocals and thoughtful, honest lyrics. Danielle Ate the Sandwich has been touring nationally since 2009, cultivating a loyal and dedicated fan base, affectionately referred to as ‘Fanwiches.’

Danielle Ate the Sandwich has shared the stage and collaborated with acts such as Pomplamoose, Leo Kottke, Mumford & Sons & Suzanne Vega. She has released five independent albums, receiving praise from fans of all ages. Her latest release, “The Drawing Back of Curtains” serves as the soundtrack to the HBO documentary film “Packed in a Trunk: The Lost Art of Edith Lake Wilkinson.” Danielle currently tours the United States year round and is happily based in Fort Collins, Colorado.

The Denver Post says, “Danielle Anderson is a tender singer-songwriter, a brazen humorist, a fearless young woman. Performing as Danielle Ate the Sandwich, Anderson wields a ukulele, a guitar and her own words to tell stories about people.”

GlumPuppet.

GlumPuppet.

A Connecticut-based duo (Drosh & Lana Peck), GlumPuppet bills itself as “esoteric modern vaudeville.” Performing member Lana Peck describes the entertainment as “general silliness” suited to adult audiences. The group uses video, music, puppets and spoken word to celebrate such cultural favorites as Game of Thrones, Harry Potter, Blade Runner, Star Trek, Dr. Who and more.

CK.

CK.

Hailing from Bridgeport, Connecticut, CK uses deep, moody vocals and acoustic guitar to tell intimate and mysterious stories. Ranging from small and kept to loud and brawling, his vocals are complimented by acoustic guitar, sometimes dancing and intricate and other times perfectly sparse and bare.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Sept. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Saturday, Sept. 17. BLUEGRASS/SWING: TOO BLUE

• Monday, Sept. 19. FILM SCREENING: “THIRTEEN DAYS”

• Thursday, Sept. 22. SPANISH AND LATIN AMERICAN PIANO MUSIC (with commentary): DONALD ALFANO

• Friday, Sept. 23. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM, EDDIE SEVILLE

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING (3 PM): “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Sunday, Sept. 25. FILM SCREENING (7 PM): “THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE”

• Tuesday, Sept. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH, CK, GLUMPUPPET

• Wednesday, Sept. 28. BRAZILIAN CHORO MUSIC: ROGÉRIO SOUZA, EDINHO GERBER & STEPHEN GUERRA

• Thursday, Sept. 29. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SWAMP YANKEE, ALEXANDER

• Friday, Sept. 30. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Sunday, Oct. 2. FREE FIRST SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Oct. 5. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN OF MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Thursday, Oct. 6. POST-PUNK: GRIST, DEADBEAT CLUB

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

• Monday, Oct. 10. FILM SCREENING: “ALL THE PRESIDENT’S MEN”

• Tuesday, Oct. 11. FILM SCREENING: “ELMER GANTRY”

• WEdnesday, Oct. 12. ROCK/BLUES: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Oct. 14. CELTIC/APPALACHIAN: REELIN’ AWAY

• Sunday, Oct. 16. FILM SCREENING: “DR. STRANGELOVE…”

• Wednesday, Oct. 19. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITER: STEPHEN CHOPEK

• Thursday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE KOREY BRODSKY BAND

• Friday, Oct. 21. BLUEGRASS/POP: JACKSON’S ISLAND

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE MALTESE FALCON”

• Wednesday, Oct. 26. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 27. CELTIC AMERICA: THE EBIN-ROSE TRIO; SINGER-SONGWRITER:  DOUGLAS ALAN

• Friday, Oct. 28. HALLOWEEN SILENT FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT PLAYS TO “NOSFERATU”

• Sunday, Oct. 30. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE”

• Sunday, Nov. 6. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE ASPHALT JUNGLE”

• Sunday, Nov. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE AFRICAN QUEEN”

• Friday, Nov. 11. FERNANDO PINTO PRESENTS JESSE TERRY & CALLAGHAN

• Friday, Nov. 25. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: DAVE PETERSON (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)