Music: Daphne Lee Martin and Hannah Fair Fri., Oct. 3, at 8 PM

The singer-songwriters Hannah Fair and Daphne Lee Martin perform Friday, Oct. 3. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Forever blending genres in the legacy of the great Tin Pan Alley songwriters, Daphne Lee Martin takes beloved traditional southern roots sounds and runs them through megaphones, mellotron, a very old tube amp, a swamp and a dark alley or two. As always, the lyrics are fermented and distilled in a bathtub full of misfit Interbellum prose.

The albums are lush, and the live show fills bellies with whiskey, hearts with desire, and floors with dancers. Daphne tours acoustic up to full band with horns.

Watch Martin performing “Whiskey and Sin” live on WNPR’s program “Where We Live”:

Young Americana Singer/Songwriter, Hannah Fair, has a down- home, simple, and wholesome feel to her music. Hannah’s eclectic music stylings and heartfelt lyrics bring her songs and stories to life. Like a misty vapor that mysteriously forms and hangs over clear, still water in the morning, the lyrics of Hannah Fair’s music linger hauntingly in the mind while the sounds hover as gently in the air as a warm sea breeze long after the song is finished. Her music takes you to a new level of the experiences of youth—first love and first kiss, aching passion, heartache, and the need to leave the recognition of the familiar and experience new places and people. The music of this acoustic singer/songwriter is unpolished yet fresh, raw, and organic, shifting and changing as nature itself, prompting one blogger to write that “The songs are delivered with a confident, relaxed style that often gives them an immediacy that feels like she’s writing the lyrics as she is singing them.”

Hannah will bring you into the New England world she lives in, from the rolling hills and railroad tracks along the Blue Trail in Connecticut in “Fit Me”, to the deep woods, lakes, and cold winters of Maine in her, “Lonesome for You.” Two years ago Eric Lichter, the Dirt Floor Studios producer, upon first hearing Hannah said, “At the age of 16 this girl’s songs and musicianship astonish me…”. Since the recording of her first EP, Hannah has recorded a full length album consisting of 13 tracks that will release in December of 2012.

Watch Hannah Fair perform “The Other Side”:

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Sept. 25. JAZZ: THE ELLIGERS BROTHERS

• Friday, Sept. 26. INDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE, THE SHRINNIRS

• Sunday, Sept. 28. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “BECAUSE OF WINN-DIXIE”

• Monday, Sept. 29. FILM SCREENING: “A RIVER RUNS THROUGH IT”

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 2. ORIGINAL INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC/JAZZ: GEORGE LESIW BAND

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR

• Sunday, Oct. 5. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “FLY AWAY HOME”

• Monday, Oct. 6. FILM SCREENING: “CAST AWAY”

• Wednesday, Oct. 8. AMERICANA: GOODNIGHT BLUE MOON

• Thursday, Oct. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Sunday, Oct. 12. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “BABE”

• Monday, Oct. 13. FILM SCREENING: “CAPE FEAR” (Original)

• Wednesday, Oct. 15. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN of MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Friday, Oct. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM with TOM HANFORD; BOP TWEEDIE

• Sunday, Oct. 19. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ANNIE”

• Monday, Oct. 20. FILM SCREENING: “DELIVERANCE”

• Thursday, Oct. 23. CABARET/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Friday, Oct. 24. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: FRANK CRITELLI; JAY PRINCE

• Sunday, Oct. 26. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “SHORT CIRCUIT”

• Monday, Oct. 27. FILM SCREENING: “THE SWIMMER”

• Wednesday, Oct. 29. ECLECTIC POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, Oct. 30. “SONGS OF MISERY, DESPAIR & THE SUPERNATURAL”: DAVID, SHELDON AND GAIL

• Sunday, Nov. 2. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ABBOTT & COSTELLO MEET FRANKENSTEIN”

• Monday, Nov. 3. FILM SCREENING: “The NIGHT OF THE HUNTER”

• Thursday, Nov. 6. BLUEGRASS: THE STACY PHILLIPS-PAUL HOWARD DUET

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Thursday, Nov. 20. FILM SCREENING: “SEVEN DAYS IN MAY”