Music: Experimental sounds with Nick Di Maria: Zero Dollar Solo, The Forest Room on Wed., Mar. 23

Trumpeter Nick Di Maria (Nick Di Maria: Zero Dollar Solo) and The Forest Room (guitarist Matt Streit) play Best Video Performance Space Wednesday, Mar. 23. The show starts at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover.

Nick Di Maria

Nick Di Maria

A graduate of Western Connecticut State University, Nick Di Maria holds a Bachelor’s in Jazz Performance studying under Eddie Henderson, Dave Scott, Jeremy Pelt, Taylor Ho Bynum and Rich Clymer. Nick began playing music at age 10 and over the years has played in multiple genres from jazz to reggae to classical to punk. In 2006 upon graduating from college, Nick assembled his first working quartet. From the beginning the band began working the CT jazz scene playing all over the state, including a residency in Newtown in the summer of 2006.

For this show, Di Maria is planning on playing solo trumpet under the name Zero Dollar: Solo. In an email, Di Maria wrote, “Its pretty avant garde a la Nate Wooley/Taylor Ho Bynum.

The Forest Room

The Forest Room

The Forest Room is the acoustic solo project by Matt Streit which began in 2004 as a casual musical outlet outside of his main band. An active musician from Milford, CT for many years, mainly as a bass player in heavy metal and rock bands, Matt takes a completely different approach with the Forest Room by writing most of the music on acoustic guitar, utilizing multiple layers of guitar parts with live record looping, and occasionally incorporating produced beats. Matt uses several guitar effects pedals, some of which he built himself. The Forest Room combines influences and elements of instrumental, folk, ambient, hiphop, and triphop music.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Mar. 16. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Oct. 18. ALT-COUNTRY: NO LINE NORTH, THE VONZELLS

• Wednesday, Mar. 23. EXPERIMENTAL: THE FOREST ROOM, NICK Di MARIA: ZERO DOLLAR SOLO

• Thursday, Mar. 24. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Mar. 25. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DICK NEAL

• Monday, Mar. 28. FOLK: TREVOR HEALY/JASON LABBE DUO, CHUCK JOHNSON

• Wednesday, Mar. 30. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: WESTERN ESTATES, ZACH ANDERSEN

• Thursday, Mar. 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI, JOE FLOOD

• Friday, Apr. 1. BLUES ROCK: JUST US featuring NOAH KESSELMAN

• Sunday, Apr. 3. FREE 2 PM AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Apr. 4. FILM SCREENING: “THE BEST MAN”

• Wednesday, Apr. 6. INDIE ROCK presented by Redscroll Records: HEX INVERTER, DIRT DEVIL, NOTHING ISRAEL

• Thursday, Apr. 7. BLUES: THE MOODY’S BLUES

• Friday. Apr. 8. FOLK: HUGH BIRDSALL & DANA TAKAKI

• Monday, Apr. 11. FILM SCREENING: “THE CONTENDER”

• Thursday, Apr. 14. INDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE, BOX FAN

• Tues., Apr. 19. FILM SCREENING: “BULWORTH”

• Wednesday, Apr. 20. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Thursday, Apr. 21. INDIE FOLK: THE MID SEASON

• Friday, Apr. 22. JAZZ: REBECCA ABBOTT, GARY GRIPPO & FRIENDS

• Monday, Apr. 25. FILM SCREENING: “A FACE IN THE CROWD”

• Thursday, Apr. 28. SEPHARDIC MUSIC: THE HERETICS OF CORDOBA

• Monday, May 2. FILM SCREENING: “THE CANDIDATE”

• Friday, May 6. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Saturday, May 7. SOFT ACOUSTIC/ROCK: THE HERNANDEZ BROTHERS

• Monday, May 9. FILM SCREENING: “FRUITVALE STATION”

• Friday, May 13. THREE SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, DICK NEAL, GLEN ROETHEL

• Friday, May 20. JAZZ VOCALS & GUITAR: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL