Music: Faun and a Pan Flute (from Atlanta, GA), Large Objects play Tues., Mar. 7

Touring experimental orchestral group Faun and a Pan Flute play Best Video Performance Space Tuesday, Mar. 7. Local quartet Large Objects opens. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Faun and a Pan Flute

Faun and a Pan Flute is an 8-member orchestral experimental band from Atlanta, GA. Faun’s collaboratively composed music “balances turbulent energy with meditative rubato, dense interplay with wide-open duos and trios, and sweaty, hypnotic rhythms with near-ambient soundscapes,” according to Dave Wayne of All About Jazz. Faun has shared bills with bands such as Guerilla Toss, Kamasi Washington, Tatsuya Nakatani, Lonnie Holley, Marshall Allen of the Sun Ra Arkestra, Battle Trance, Lightning Bolt, Sam Prekop of Sea and Cake, members of Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey, and Snarky Puppy, and are one of the most active bands on the Atlanta music scene and a regular touring entity on the experimental underground music circuit. Listen to some of their music on their Bandcamp pages.

Large Objects is from New Haven, CT, and features Anne Rhodes (voice), Adam Matlock (accordion), Chris Cretella (guitar), and Zach Rowden (bass).

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Mar. 2. SURF ROCK: THE CLAMS

• Friday, Mar. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: OLIVE TIGER (solo), DANIEL EUGENE

• Sunday, Mar. 5. FREE FIRST SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM HOSTED BY GUITARTOWNCT

• Monday, Mar. 6. FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MANCHESTER BY THE SEA”

• Tuesday, Mar. 7 ORCHESTRAL EXPERIMENTAL ROCK: FAUN AND A PAN FLUTE (from Atlanta, Georgia); EXPERIMENTAL: LARGE OBJECTS

• Wednesday, Mar. 8. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Friday, Mar. 10. JAZZ GUITAR: MICHAEL COPPOLA

• Saturday, Mar. 11. JAZZ: THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE PLAYS “BLACK, BROWN AND BEIGE; YELLOW, TRANS AND QUEER: MY COUNTRY ‘TIS OF THIS (A PROTEST SUITE COMPOSED BY ALLEN LOWE)

• Monday, Mar. 13. FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MOONLIGHT”

• Wednesday,  Mar. 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHULA WEINSTEIN & BEN ROSS

• Thursday, Mar. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM, KATHY MUIR

• Friday, Mar. 17. INDIE ROCK: DISCO TEEN 66

• Saturday, Mar. 18. INDIE FOLK: JAMES AM DOWNES, BROOMS, GABE MORTALI

• Wednesday, Mar. 22. CLASSICAL: 4-3-2-1: A EUPHONIUM AND FRIENDS PRODUCTION

• Friday, Mar. 24. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SINGER-SONGWRITER: BELLE OF THE FALL

• Saturday, Mar. 25. JAZZ: : THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE PLAYS “BLACK, BROWN AND BEIGE; YELLOW, TRANS AND QUEER: MY COUNTRY ‘TIS OF THIS (A PROTEST SUITE COMPOSED BY ALLEN LOWE)

• Sunday, Mar. 26. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “REPO MAN”

• Wednesday, Mar. 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: LAMONT

• Thursday, Mar. 30. ALTERNATIVE/AMERICANA: THE WYRD BROTHERS; DANCY DREAM POP: FOVEA

• Saturday, Apr. 1. CULT FILM SCREENING: TBA

• Sunday, Apr. 2. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “WARGAMES”

• Thursday, Apr. 6. AVANT-GARDE: ELM FICTION

• Saturday, Apr. 8. CLASSICAL GUITAR: MAX LYMAN; AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: ALEXANDER

• Sunday, Apr. 9. REDSCROLL RECORDS SCREENING AND MUSIC

• Friday, Apr. 14. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Apr. 16. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “BLUE VELVET”

• Sunday, Apr. 23. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “DO THE RIGHT THING”

• Friday, Apr. 28. BLUEGRASS: THE SLOCAN RAMBLERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Apr. 30. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “THELMA AND LOUISE”

• Sunday, May 7. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Saturday, May 6. CULT FILM SCREENING: TBA

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER DUO

• Friday, June 16. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Aug. 4. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Sept. 15. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)