Music: Fuchsprellen and Colorguard play experimental music Thurs., July 25, at 8 PM

The free improvising group Fuchsprellen and ambient/noise musician Kryssi Battalene aka Colorguard will perform in the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, July 25. The cover is $5 and the music starts at 8 PM.

Fuchsprellen—the name comes from “fox tossing,” a popular blood sport of the 17th and 18th centuries—play free-form, improvised music.  The trio is comprised of Steve Chillemi (who plays drums in Captain  Beefheart cover band Doctor Dark) on bass clarinet and soprano saxophone, Peter Riccio (guitarist and singer of The Sawtelles) on drums and Pete Brunelli on bass. No foxes will be harmed in the making of this music.

Fuchsprellen at the Best Video Performance Space in January, 2013 with special guest saxophonist Richard Brown

Fuchsprellen at the Best Video Performance Space in January, 2013 with special guest saxophonist Richard Brown

Colorguard will perform a short opening set. Colorguard’s most recent casette release is described thusly on the Elm Recordings Web site: “Hauntingly minimalistic improvisations from New Haven guitarist (Mountain Movers, Medication) and noise-maker Kryssi Battalene. On this release she works with a prepared turntable to create both harshly distorted and keenly melodic record loops that are as beatiful as they are unrecognizable from their source material.”

Listen to Colorguard’s “Host” at YouTube:

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Wednesday, July 24. SINGER-SONGWRITER/INDIE: SAMUEL BASS, KEVIN MF KING

• Thursday, July 25. AVANT-GARDE_IMPROVISATION: FUCHSPRELLEN, COLORGUARD

• Monday, July 29. FILM SCREENING: “ARRANGED”

• Wednesday, July 31. INDIE PSYCH/POP: M.T. BEARINGTON

• Thursday, Aug. 1. IMPROVISATION/WORLD MUSIC: SUPER TRANCE

• Monday, Aug. 5. FILM SCREENING: “ONLY HUMAN”

• Wednesday, Aug. 7. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Aug. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ILANA ZSIGMOND

• Monday, Aug. 12. FILM SCREENING: “CRASH”

• Wednesday, Aug. 14. GARAGE ROCK/PUNK: THE ESTROGEN HIGHS

• Thursday, Aug. 15. JAZZ: THE NICK Di MARIA QUARTET

• Monday, Aug. 19. FILM SCREENING: “THE WAR WITHIN”

• Thursday, Aug. 22. MULTI-MEDIA: HAPPENING/NOW

• Monday, Aug. 26. FILM SCREENING: “THE OTHER SON”