Music: Fuchsprellen makes it up on the fly Fri., Apr. 29

Fuchsprellen_BV_040315_01_WebThe free improvising group Fuchsprellen will perform in the Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Apr. 29. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Fuchsprellen—the name comes from “fox tossing,” a popular blood sport of the 17th and 18th centuries—play free-form, improvised music.  The group this evening will be comprised of Peter Riccio (guitarist and singer of The Sawtelles) on drums, Pete Brunelli on electronics and bass, Best Video manager Richard Brown on alto saxophone and John Venter on saxophone. No foxes will be harmed in the making of this music.

This is music composed in real time with the various players listening to and responding to the sounds created by their compatriots. Anything can happen and it often does. This music evokes the free jazz of the 1960’s and 1970’s—although it isn’t really “jazz,” per se—and the New York City loft scene of the 1980’s.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Apr. 22. JAZZ: REBECCA ABBOTT, GARY GRIPPO & FRIENDS

• Monday, Apr. 25. FILM SCREENING: “A FACE IN THE CROWD”

• Thursday, Apr. 28. TIN PAN ALLEY: ZAHTIE’S BATHTUB GIN

• Friday, Apr. 29. EXPERIMENTAL: FUCHSPRELLEN

• Saturday, Apr. 30. FILM SCREENING/WINE & CHEESE TASTING: VINO/NOIR

• Monday, May 2. FILM SCREENING: “THE CANDIDATE”

• Thursday, May 5. BLUEGRASS: THE WALKINGWOOD MANDOLIN QUARTET

• Friday, May 6. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Saturday, May 7. SOFT ACOUSTIC/ROCK: THE HERNANDEZ BROTHERS

• Monday, May 9. FILM SCREENING: “FRUITVALE STATION”

• Wednesday, May 11. ROCK: THE NEW CHASTITY

• Friday, May 13. THREE SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, DICK NEAL, GLEN ROETHEL

• Monday, May 16. FILM SCREENING: “SARAH’S KEY” (in partnership with the Jewish Community Center of New Haven)

• Thursday, May 19. EXPERIMENTAL: RIVENER, BLACK FLUFF

• Friday, May 20. JAZZ VOCALS & GUITAR: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER

• Thursday, May 26. EXPERIMENTAL: ELECTRONHIC

• Friday, May 27. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Friday, June 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR

• Thursday, June 9. CABARET/SINATRA: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Thursday, June 16. CHRISTOPHER ARNOTT & LYS GUILLORN CELEBRATE BLOOMSDAY

• Friday, July 1. POST-PUNK: TELEGRAM SCAM

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL