Music: Goodnight Blue Moon to play Wed., Oct. 8, at 8 PM

GNBM_Field_WebThe renowned Americana band Goodnight Blue Moon plays the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Oct. 8. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Goodnight Blue Moon, from New Haven, Connecticut, writes pop songs on folk instruments. By combining 60’s vocal harmonies, traditional roots influences, and catchy orchestrated melodies, GNBM is what New England Americana sounds like. Having already shared the stage with folk heavy weights (Spirit Family Reunion, Joe Fletcher and the Wrong Reasons, Hurray for the Riff Raff, and Frank Fairfield), they play high energy and dynamic sets that get an entirely packed room dancing and singing along.

Goodnight Blue Moon released How Long, their critically-acclaimed debut full length record, in March, 2012. Recorded in Lyric Hall Antiques and Restoration and mixed at Tarquin Studios by Greg Giorgio, How Long was a testament to the original vision of Elligers, Matlack and Crowley, featuring a riveting blend of 60’s orchestral pop and folk, indie folk, and bluegrass.  CT.com gushed:

They have successfully merged styles and sounds that, at first glance on paper, probably shouldn’t work.  But by sheer will and muscle they’re proving that with enough talented players in your troupe that you can take great songs, structure them any damn way you please and create a unique and enjoyable listening experience.

CT.com also included How Long on their annual year-end list of the best Connecticut albums of 2012.

2013 brought more accolades for Goodnight Blue Moon as they were voted by Connecticut music fans as the “Best Folk/Traditional Band” at the 2nd Annual Connecticut Music Awards.  They were one of a very small handful of bands to be nominated in multiple categories, including the “Best Overall Band” category.  They were also invited to perform at the ceremony on the prestigious Bushnell Theater stage, along with knockout performances at the annual CT Folk Festival, The Block Island Music Festival, The Meriden Daffodil Festival, and venues all across New England.

2014 brings with it the promise of more music from Goodnight Blue Moon as the band readies for a January release of their newest EP, A Girl I Never Met, a six-song venture further into the hearts and minds of listeners.  This release is followed by a heavy schedule of live performances and festival appearances including spots already secured on Hartford’s Emerge Festival and the Podunk Bluegrass Festival.

Watch the official video for Goodnight Blue Moon’s song “Captain’s Church”:

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Sept. 25. JAZZ: THE ELLIGERS BROTHERS

• Friday, Sept. 26. INDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE, THE SHRINNIRS

• Sunday, Sept. 28. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “BECAUSE OF WINN-DIXIE”

• Monday, Sept. 29. FILM SCREENING: “A RIVER RUNS THROUGH IT”

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 2. ORIGINAL INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC/JAZZ: GEORGE LESIW BAND

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR

• Sunday, Oct. 5. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “FLY AWAY HOME”

• Monday, Oct. 6. FILM SCREENING: “CAST AWAY”

• Wednesday, Oct. 8. AMERICANA: GOODNIGHT BLUE MOON

• Thursday, Oct. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Sunday, Oct. 12. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “BABE”

• Monday, Oct. 13. FILM SCREENING: “CAPE FEAR” (Original)

• Wednesday, Oct. 15. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN of MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Friday, Oct. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM with TOM HANFORD; BOP TWEEDIE

• Sunday, Oct. 19. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ANNIE”

• Monday, Oct. 20. FILM SCREENING: “DELIVERANCE”

• Thursday, Oct. 23. CABARET/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Friday, Oct. 24. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: FRANK CRITELLI; JAY PRINCE

• Sunday, Oct. 26. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “SHORT CIRCUIT”

• Monday, Oct. 27. FILM SCREENING: “THE SWIMMER”

• Wednesday, Oct. 29. ECLECTIC POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, Oct. 30. “SONGS OF MISERY, DESPAIR & THE SUPERNATURAL”: DAVID, SHELDON AND GAIL

• Sunday, Nov. 2. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ABBOTT & COSTELLO MEET FRANKENSTEIN”

• Monday, Nov. 3. FILM SCREENING: “The NIGHT OF THE HUNTER”

• Thursday, Nov. 6. BLUEGRASS: THE STACY PHILLIPS-PAUL HOWARD DUET

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Thursday, Nov. 20. FILM SCREENING: “SEVEN DAYS IN MAY”