Music: GuitarTownCT Productions presents David Peterson Fri., Nov. 25, at 7:30 PM

dave_peterson_webNashville country singer David Peterson at Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Nov. 25, at 7:30 PM. Advance tickets $20 at www.guitartownct.com. Door tickets $25. A GuitartownCT Production.

David Peterson sings traditional country, bluegrass and gospel music with a clarity and passion that is unique in today’s music world. “His voice has a lofty quality that carries from mountain-top to mountain-top. It’s powerful, complete and saturated with Bill Monroe, Hank Williams, and Jimmy Martin’s blues,” says Bluegrass Unlimited Magazine.

His 2015 album, Old Time Power, received rave reviews, including this from Bluegrass Today, “Believe me, there is power in this music. Peterson’s clear, unaffected tenor voice is perfect… If you enjoy old time gospel bluegrass, this one is a must have.”

Peterson grew up near Boston, and moved to Nashville in 1995, where he formed “David Peterson and1946”, named after the year that Bill Monroe, backed by Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs, first recorded bluegrass. When his band performs at Nashville’s iconic Station Inn, big bluegrass stars like Sam Bush, Charlie Cushman, Dennis Crouch and Michael Cleveland are often on stage with him. They enjoy the opportunity to play this classic music with Peterson.

He has been playing mostly solo gigs for the last five years, and hasn’t performed in the Northeast since his last GuitartownCT appearance in 2012.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Nov. 18. PARTY PUNK: TINY BOX BOOKING presents POSTURE & THE GRIZZLY, PRINCE DADDY & THE HYENA, MILKSHAKES, JUST FRIENDS (7 PM)

• Saturday, Nov. 19. JAZZ JAM with ALLEN LOWE, JEFF FULLER & ED CERCONE

• Monday, Nov. 21. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “RUNAWAY TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Nov. 23. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: DANIEL BACHMAN, ALEXANDER

• Friday, Nov. 25. BLUEGRASS/TRADITIONAL COUNTRY: DAVE PETERSON (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Nov. 26. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE INCREDIBLE JOURNEY” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Nov. 28. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CHARADE”

• Wednesday, Nov. 30. JAZZ: URI SHAHAM TRIO

• Thursday, Dec. 1. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: GLENN ROTH, SINGER-SONGWRITER: KRISTEN GRAVES

• Friday, Dec. 2. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES CD RELEASE SHOW, HANK HOFFMAN (solo)

• Sunday, Dec. 4. FREE FIRST SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM (PRESENTED BY GUITARTOWNCT)

• Monday, Dec. 5. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “PAT GARRETT & BILLY THE KID”

• Thursday, Sept. 8. AMERICANA: SEPIATONE

• Friday, Dec. 9. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY BAND (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Monday, Dec. 12. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “WINTER’S BONE”

• Friday, Dec. 16. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Saturday, Dec. 17. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE GOONIES” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Dec. 19. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CONTACT”

• Friday, Jan. 6. ACOUSTIC FOLK BLUES & MORE: VANGE DURST

• Saturday, Jan. 7. MUSIC OF “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, Jan. 13. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Friday, Jan. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Friday, Jan. 27. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)