Music: Homemade Jam plays folk Fri., July 22, at 8 PM

Homemade_Jam_BVFCC_02116_WebLocal group Homemade Jam performs Friday, July 22. The show starts at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover.

Homemade Jam plays a combination of New Orleans swing, folk-rock, bluegrass, Americana and original music. There is something for everybody when this band plays; old-school and fun. Based in New Haven Connecticut, the music is upbeat and lively, with a deep and wide repertoire, plus lots of new original songs for all to enjoy at any occasion. Soulful arrangements of songs, with intricate vocal harmonies and inspired instrumental breaks.

The group is Jon Asbell (Mandolin, rhythm & lead guitar, lead and harmony vocals), Frank Panzarella (Rhythm & lead guitar, lead and harmony vocals), Jim Baldoni (Bass guitar and lead and harmony vocals). Special Guests sometimes include Karen Cohn Asbell (Lead and harmony vocals, percussion), Shula Weinstein (cello) and Anne Cherry (violin).

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Sunday, July 10. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY BILLY WILDER (“WITNESS FOR THE PROSECUTION”)

• Monday, July 11. FILM SCREENING: “REMEMBER”

• Wednesday, July 13. ROCK: HOLIDAY PING

• Thursday, July 14. SINGER-SONGWRITER/INDIE ROCK: DANIELLE CAPALBO

• Friday, July 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER: KATH BLOOM, BOP TWEEDIE

• Monday, July 18. FILM SCREENING: “LIFEBOAT”

• Wednesday, July 20. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARMS STRING BAND

• Thursday, July 21. JAZZ: BRETT BOTTOMLEY

• Friday, July 22. FOLK: HOMEMADE JAM

• Sunday, July 24. INDIE, HIP-HOP: RUNNING LAPS & NATHAN CORP, THE FOREST ROOM, CHEF THE CHEF, ZAK G.

• Monday, July 25. FILM SCREENING: “ACE IN THE HOLE”

• Wednesday, July 27. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS PRESENTS THE MUSIC OF ENNIO MORRICONE

• Thursday, July 28. DIY/EXPERIMENTAL: PAINTED FACES, BIG NURSE

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Monday, Aug. 1. FILM SCREENING: “THE TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Aug. 3. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, Aug. 4. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: THE NAMELESS TRIO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, EARTHLINGS

• Monday, Aug. 8. FILM SCREENING: “MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION”

• Wednesday, Aug. 10. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Thursday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT

• Wednesday, Aug. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE, TINY OCEAN

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING: “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL