Music: James Velvet and the Lonesome Sparrows on Thurs., Apr. 17, at 8 PM

If all goes according to plan—and why shouldn’t it?—James Velvet and the Lonesome Sparrows will inaugurate the new Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Apr. 17. The cover is $5 and the music starts at 8 PM.

the_lonesome_sparrows_Web

Original acoustic rootsy rock ‘n’ roll. Songwriter extraordinaire James Velvet fronts the Lonesome Sparrows. The band includes Johnny Memphis on guitar, fiddle and harmony vocals. Memphis and Velvet have been playing together since 1985. Memphis is also a long-standing member of Washboard Slim and The Blue Lights. Velvet and Memphis are joined on dobro, mandolin and banjo by DickNeal, well-known in Southern CT for his bluegrass band, Hoe. Johnny Java plays electric bass and percussion.

Johnny Java and James Velvet played original roots R&R in The MockingBirds for a dozen years (buttressed for many of those years by DickNeal’s guitar playing). The Sparrows are happiest at Coffee House/Gallery concerts (Never Ending Bookstore, John Slade Ely House, The Buttonwood Tree, Best Video Performance Space) or, in the warm weather, at  CT’s  many tasty Farm Markets. In April, 2010, the group released their 13-track CD Black Velvet Royalty.

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Thursday, Apr. 17. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Wednesday, Apr. 23. ART ROCK: FLOATING LANTERNS

• Wednesday, Apr. 30. AVANT-GARDE SOLO BASS VIRTUOISITY: JACK VEES

• Wednesday, May 7. ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursdasy, May 8. IMPROVISATION: FUCHSPRELLEN

• Wednesday, May 14. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Thursday, May 15. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: FRANK CRITELLI, MARK MIRANDO

• Wednesday, May 21. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, May 22. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: ILANA ZSIGMOND, SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Wednesday, May 28. POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, May 30. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: SAM PERDUTA, JAY PRINCE

• Thursday, June 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND