Music: Jazz bassist Paul Shanley brings group to Best Video Thurs., Jan. 31

The Paul Shanley Group plays Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Jan. 31. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

The Paul Shanley Quintet seeks to bring fresh perspectives to a wide range of jazz styles from Cole Porter to Thelonious Monk. The goal of our music is to create something in the moment that is unique, exciting, and played with energy and passion. Everyone in the group has their own thoughts and feelings about the music and how they like to play, then we come together through our common interests. Playing live is an essential part of the music and the instant response that we get is the largest reward. Nothing comes close to the experience of listening to great live music. This group will do everything in our power to create a great performance for you the listener.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Jan. 24. ACOUSTIC FOLK/CONTRA DANCE TUNES: WRY BRED

• Friday, Jan. 25. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Monday, Jan. 28, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING: NH DOCS—THE NEW HAVEN DOCUMENTARY FILM FESTIVAL & BVFCC PRESENT “TRAVEL LIGHT” with director LINDSAY THOMPSON

• Tuesday, Jan. 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Jan. 30. FOLK ROCK: THE ALPACA GNOME TRIO

• Thursday, Jan. 31. JAZZ: PAUL SHANLEY

• Friday, Feb. 1. SPACE JAZZ: RETROUVAILLE & VIVIENNE AERTS; SOLO GUITAR w/FX/LOOPS: IAN C. BOURAS

• Sunday, Feb. 3. GUITARTOWNCT SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Feb. 4. MONTHLY MOVIE-RELATED TRIVIA NIGHT: TRIVIA-237

• Thursday, Feb. 7. INDIE FOLK: PODUNK THROWBACKS

• Friday, Feb. 8. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Saturday, Feb. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Feb. 10, 3 PM. FILM SCREENING: “A LITTLE CHAOS” presented by ERIC LARSON

• Wednesday, Feb. 13. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Feb. 14. ALT-FOLK CLOSE HARMONY: PIGEON ENGLISH; COUNTRY & WESTERN: NATHANIEL HINTZ

• Friday, Feb. 15. BRAZILIAN JAZZ: SAMBELEZA (REUNION!)

• Sunday, Feb. 17, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Feb. 18, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Feb. 19, 8 PM. REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP COMEDY SHOW HOSTED BY KENDRA DAWSEY

• Wed., Feb. 20. JUGBAND: THE HOWLING HOUND DOGS

• Thursday, Feb. 21, 7:30 PM. SURF MUSIC: RENEGADE LOUNGE; POST ROCK/FUTURE SURF: PANGALACTIC

• Friday, Feb. 22. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Sunday, Feb. 24, 12-3 PM. BEST VIDEO PRE-OSCARS CELEBRATION

• Sunday, Feb. 24, 4 PM. FILM SCREENING: “SAVING GRACE” presented by ERIC LARSON

• Wednesday, Feb. 27. AVANT-GARDE: DREW WESELY; CHRIS CRETELLA

• Thursday, Feb. 28, 7:30 PM. SYNTH POP: FALCONEER, PEARL SUGAR

• Friday, Mar. 1. IMPROVISATION/PSYCHEDELIC: NO KLEMENTINES, HENRY BIRDSEY

• Saturday, Mar. 2. INDIE POP ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Sunday, Mar. 3. GUITARTOWN SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Mar. 4. MONTHLY MOVIE-RELATED TRIVIA NIGHT: TRIVIA-237

• Tuesday, Mar. 5, 7 PM. LITERARY: A READING FOR AL-MUTANABBI STREET—DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Wednesday, Mar. 6. IMPROVISED MUSIC: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Thursday, Mar. 7. ROCK/PUNK/ROOTS: THE CHRISTIAN MARRONE TRIO; INDIE: GHOSTWOODS

• Friday, Mar. 8. INDIE ROCK: KEESH/PHEOBE, GLAMBAT, SOFT SCREAMS

• Sunday, Mar. 10, 3 PM. FILM SCREENING: “THIS BEAUTIFUL FANTASTIC” presented by ERIC LARSON

• Wednesday, Mar. 13. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, Mar. 15. BLUES/ROCK: VANGE DURST

• Saturday, Mar. 16. AMERICANA/BLUE-EYED SOUL: FRANK VIELE

• Sunday, Mar. 17, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Mar. 18, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Mar. 19, 8 PM. REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP COMEDY SHOW HOSTED BY KENDRA DAWSEY

• Wednesday, Mar. 20. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, Mar. 21. SINGER-SONGWRITER: BRIAN DOLZANI TRIO, SETH ADAM

• Friday, Mar. 22. AFRICAN JAZZ: MANDINGO AMBASSADORS

• Tuesday, Mar. 26, 7:30 PM. POETRY READING: CONNECTICUT POETRY SOCIETY

• Wednesday, Mar. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: BOB CSUGIE, FRANK CRITELLI, MARK MIRANDO, RICHARD NEAL

• Thursday, Mar. 28. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Friday, Mar. 29. AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Tuesday, Apr. 2, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING: “JOURNEY OF THE UNIVERSE” (PRESENTED BY HAMDEN LAND TRUST)

• Thursday, Apr. 4. GYPSY JAZZ: DJANGO’S RESERVE

• Friday, Apr. 5. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, LYS GUILLORN, SHELLYE VALAUSKAS, KIERSTIN SIESER

• Tuesday, Apr. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Thursday, Apr. 11. ACOUSTIC SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Apr. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JIM HURST (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Apr. 13. FOLK/COUNTRY/BLUEGRASS: THE GRAY SKY GIRLS

• Wednesday, April 17. ACOUSTIC FOLK ROCK: PAUL DECOSTER, EXPERIMENTAL ACOUSTIC: KAREN HOGG

• Thursday, Apr. 18. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT

• Friday, Apr. 19. POP: FLEURS

• Wednesday, Apr. 24. INDIE ROCK: THE ACCIDENTAL VILLAIN

• Thursday, Apr. 25. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JIM PARADIS

• Friday, Apr. 26. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Tuesday, May 7, 7:30 PM. FILM SCREENING: “THE VILLAGE”

• Friday, May 24. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, May 30. IMPROVISED MUSIC: URS LEIMGRUBER, ADAM MATLOCK

• Friday, May 31. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH

• Tuesday, June 25, 7:30 PM. POETRY READING: CONNECTICUT POETRY SOCIETY

• Friday, Aug. 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: PHILLIPS, GRIER & FLINNER (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)