Music: Jeff Fuller & Friends jazz trio on Fri. Dec. 16

fuller_friends_ballroom_111016_webThe jazz group Jeff Fuller & Friends plays the Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Dec. 16. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Bassist Fuller is joined by Darren Litzie on piano and Ben Bilello on drums.

Whether performing on stage and in clubs, teaching jazz and coaching ensembles, or composing and arranging in his home studio, Jeff Fuller brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to all his musical endeavors.

An integral part of the Connecticut, New York and international jazz scenes, Fuller toured worldwide and recorded with saxophonists Lou Donaldson and Paquito D’Rivera. He has played with jazz masters from all styles and eras including such diverse artists as Dizzy Gillespie, Mose Allison, “Papa” Jo Jones, Gerry Mulligan, and Clark Terry.

Fuller is one of the most sought after jazz bassists in Connecticut, and currently leads his own ensembles in many jazz venues. In September, 2014, he was awarded the annual Jazz Haven Award, “For all you have done in presenting and preserving the culture and music of jazz.”  Fuller plays the Upton Hawkes Hybrid double bass, and a Ken Smith 6-string bass guitar.

The history of the jazz piano/bass/drums trio is an encyclopedia of many volumes and entries. Remarkable bassist/composer Jeff Fuller’s new CD Shoreline Blues is an outstanding new contribution to that storied legacy, building upon the foundation he laid with his acclaimed 2015 release The Call From Within. The trio – called Jeff Fuller & Friends – was established in 2014 with pianist Darren Litzie and drummer Ben Bilello, and over that time has established that special level of synergy that results in seemingly telepathic interplay. That empathy is in full evidence on every track of Shoreline Blues.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Dec. 9. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY BAND (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Monday, Dec. 12. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “WINTER’S BONE”

• Thursday, Dec. 15. JAZZ: THE AFRO-SEMITIC DUO (DAVID CHEVAN & WARREN BYRD)

• Friday, Dec. 16. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Saturday, Dec. 17. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE GOONIES” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Dec. 19. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CONTACT”

• Wednesday, Dec. 21. AVANT-GARDE: RYAN KAYHART, GAA

• Thursday, Dec. 22. HOLIDAY CONCERT: ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Dec. 23. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: DUST HAT (DEBUT!), SOLO ELECTRIC GUITAR: BILL BECKETT

• Thursday, Dec. 29. JAZZ: MICHAEL COPPOLA

• Friday, Dec. 30. IMPROVISED/AVANT-GARDE: NAGUAL

• Wednesday, Jan. 4. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE FURORS

• Friday, Jan. 6. ACOUSTIC FOLK BLUES & MORE: VANGE DURST

• Saturday, Jan. 7. MUSIC OF “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Wednesday, Jan. 11. AMERICANA: PLYWOOD COWBOY

• Friday, Jan. 13. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Thursday, Jan. 19. GOTH/SHOEGAZE: TELEGRAM SCAM

• Friday, Jan. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Friday, Jan. 27. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Friday, Feb. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Feb. 10. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING, MERCY CHOIR (solo)

• Friday, Feb. 24. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Saturday, Feb. 25. MUSIC: “SHALL WE TALK ABOUT THE GOVERNMENT?”

• Friday, Mar. 10. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR