Music: Jellyshirts to play Wed., May 7, at 8 PM

Jellyshirts_BV_WebJellyshirts play the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, May 7. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Looking for a frame of reference for Jellyshirts’ music? Try the Velvet Underground and the Byrds. But the band—led by guitarist/vocalist Bret Logan for over 20 years, ably joined by drummer Scott McDonald and bass player Nick Appleby—has a sound determinedly their own.

From the band’s press packet:
Letting the wash of live sound influence each song, without anybody thinking “jazz” or “improvisation.” Never doing covers of our songs. Trying to get you to levitate about one-and-a-half feet off your chair (willingly, of course).

The short version: We’re loud and we play bars with a mystical need to reach you.

From a 2009 Shoreline Times article by musician and WPLR Local Bands radio show host James Velvet:

The band has been held in awe by its fans over the years for its sometimes soaring, sometimes droning sound, always played with intensity and skill. A good example is the current lead tune on their MySpace page, a recent live recording of a song they first performed 15 years ago, “Disinclined.” Ten minutes of dynamic live jamming. “Pick and Soar” is how their longtime champion Gary Vollono of IndepenDisc.com describes the sound. To which I would add, “…and feedback sometimes.”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, May 7. ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, May 8. IMPROVISATION: FUCHSPRELLEN

• Monday, May 12. FILM SCREENING: “MEMENTO”

• Wednesday, May 14. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Thursday, May 15. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: FRANK CRITELLI, MARK MIRANDO

• Sunday, May 18. SUNDAY CHILDREN’S FILM MATINEE

• Monday, May 19. FILM SCREENING: “MULHOLLAND DRIVE”

• Wednesday, May 21. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, May 22. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: ILANA ZSIGMOND, SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Monday, May 26. FILM SCREENING: “LOCAL HERO”

• Wednesday, May 28. POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, May 29. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: SAM PERDUTA, JASON PRINCE

• Thursday, June 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM & TOM HANFORD, BOP TWEEDIE

• Wednesday, June 11. LITERARY READING: ALICE MATTISON, SANDI KAHN SHELTON

• Thursday, June 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, June 18. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, June 19. GARAGE POP/PSYCHEDELIC ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Wednesday, June 25. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Thursday, June 26. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER