Music: Joe Miller & The Hipshakers offer soulful blues rock Fri., Jan. 26

Joe Miller & The Hipshakers come to Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Jan. 26, to crank out some blistering roots rock ‘n’ roll. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Joe Miller is a singer/songwriter/guitarist born in New Haven,Connecticut.

Growing up with the sounds of Rock n Roll throughout his life, he quickly learned to play the guitar at the young age of 13. Before anyone knew it, Miller was writing songs with influences of vintage rock and blues.

His styles range from straight ahead raw Rock N Roll and dirty blues to backwoods folk with a country flavor. His songs have been featured on such well known radio stations as 99.1 WPLR CT’s #1 Rock Station and Little Steven’s Underground Garage satellite show on Sirius XM.

Through 2015-2016 Joe Miller served as the lead singer/rhythm guitarist for famed guitar player, Arlen Roth (Simon & Garfunkel/Bob Dylan)

As a high energy performer in his twenties, doing all of his own songwriting, he delivers a sense of free confidence and charisma. Have a listen to one of his albums or catch a show and see for yourself!

The band is Joe Miller (guitar, vocals), Brian Carr (organ, piano), Jon Puzemis (bass) and Chuck Peterson (drums).

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Jan. 25, 6:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: BONZO, BILGE RAT, PINFINGER, SHORT MONTH

• Friday, Jan. 26. BLUES ROCK: JOE MILLER & THE HIPSHAKERS

• Saturday, Jan. 27. AVANT-GARDE/PSYCH: RIVENER, LANDING, ROSS MENZE

• Tuesday, Jan. 30, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Jan. 31. ROCK: FORREST HARLOW

• Thursday, Feb. 1. BLUES/FOLK: MATTHEW BENNETT; SINGER-SONGWRITER: KYLA P

• Friday, Feb. 2. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Tuesday, Feb. 6, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING & DISCUSSION: “LIFE ON PAROLE”

• Wednesday, Feb. 7. GARAGE ROCK: STRAIGHT TO VHS

• Thursday, Feb. 8. BLUEGRASS: JOE K. WALSH & CELIA WOODSMITH, feat. BOBBY BRITT & ZOE GUIGUENO

• Friday, Feb. 9. ROCK: ROPE

• Wednesday, Feb. 14, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, Feb. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER/FUTURE SOUL: PAUL BRYANT HUDSON

• Saturday, Feb. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM, DAN GREENE (of THE MOUNTAIN MOVERS)

• Sunday, Feb. 18, 3 PM. FILM SCREENING & DISCUSSION: BRILLIANT DARKNESS

• Friday, Feb. 23. AVANT-GARDE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT, AVMUS

• Tuesday, Feb. 27, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, MAR. 1, 8 PM. ABIOSEH JOSEPH COLE: POETRY FOR THE LIVING; DAVID BRENSILVER: MUSIC FOR THE DOOMED

• Friday, Mar. 2. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Monday, Mar. 5, 7 PM. LITERARY: A READING FOR AL-MUTANABBI STREET—DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Mar. 18, 6 PM. NIGHT OF IRISH SONGS: CHARLIE KING, ANNIE PATTERSON & PETER BLOOD (TIX: https://www.riseupandsing.org/events/rising-moon-new-haven)

• Friday, Mar. 23. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SOLO DOUBLE BASS: CHARLES BERTHOUD

• Saturday, Mar. 24. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES; AUDIO JANE

• Friday, Apr. 13. BLUEGRASS/AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Friday, Apr. 20. BLUEGRASS: MATT FLINNER TRIO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND