Music: Kath Bloom with a new band, Dan Greene solo on Wed., June 10, at 8 PM

Singer-songwriter Kath Bloom plays Best Video Performance Space with her new group on Wednesday, June 10. Dan Greene of The Mountain Movers will open with a solo set. The show starts at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover.

Kath Bloom

Kath Bloom

Bloom will play songs from her new album “Pass Through Here” with Florence Marie, Byl Cote and Bop Tweedie.

For fans of the song and how to feel it, Kath Bloom (USA) is some kind of legend. She comes from a special place where country, blues and folk are made beautifully translucent and emotive. She has a special gift – her voice is delicate and tender,  yet retains that raw emotion and hard worn truths that allows each sung word to be felt.

The more you hear of Kath Bloom, the more you notice it’s not just the arresting voice, but the power of the songwriting. “Beautiful” is the typical response—the kind of beauty that comes from truth, musical and the deeply lyrical. There are no good comparisons, but if you like the deep well of Emmylou Harris, the more poignant lyrics of Lou Reed, the joy of Maher Shalal Hash Baz or even Joni Mitchell, you’re kinda in the right zone. In reality, she’s simply Kath Bloom: horse whisperer, vocalist, mum, songwriter and a beautiful person.

In the 90′s Kath’s music was famously featured in Richard Linklater’s film Before Sunrise. Since then she has been busy writing and recording to great acclaim. Two new albums in the last few years and she and her songs where also honoured on a tribute album featuring Bill Callahan, Scout Niblett and Mark Kozelek.

Dan Greene

Dan Greene

Dan Greene has been a mainstay of the New Haven underground scene for a decade and a half, first with the Butterflies of Love–currently on unofficial hiatus–and presently with the Mountain Movers. Greene, an incredibly prolific and talented songwriter, writes all the tunes for the Mountain Movers after sharing the duties with Jeffrey Greene (no relation) in the Butterflies of Love.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, June 3. ALT-COUNTRY: LINES WEST; SINGER-SONGWRITER: KYLE DUKE

• Thursday, June 4. AVANT-GARDE: ZERO DOLLAR, PARLAY DRONER

• Friday, June 5. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Monday, June 8. FILM SCREENING: “FINDING TATANKA”

• Wednesday, June 10. SINGER-SONGWRITER: KATH BLOOM, DAN GREENE

• Thursday, June 11. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS & THE CYGNET SISTERS

• Friday, June 12. BLUEGRASS: THE WOOL HATS STRING BAND

• Monday, June 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH, GLUMPUPPET

• Thursday, June 18: SILENT FILM with MUSIC: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT scores “THE CABINET OF DR. CALIGARI”

• Friday, June 19. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Wednesday, June 24. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA (CD RELEASE SHOW!)

• Thursday, June 25. CONTRA DANCE/FOLK: WRY BRED

• Friday, June 26. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Wednesday, July 1. ART SONG: TWINS OF EL DORADO; JAZZ: WORK AND WHY WE DO IT

• Friday, July 10. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITER: DEEPER SLEEPER

• Friday, July 17. PIANO POP/PAINTING: POCKET VINYL

• Friday, July 24. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: ANNE MARIE MENTA, SHELLYE VALAUSKAS

• Friday, July 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SAMUEL BASS

• Friday, Aug. 7. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Wednesday, Aug. 26. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANGELA EASTERLING