Music: Kindred Queer on Thurs., July 24, at 8 PM

Kindred_Queer_photo_WebKindred Queer plays their brand of progressive folk rock at Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, July 24. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Vocal harmony, progressive acoustic guitar, cello, and drums characterize this New Haven-based band. The group features Xavier Serrano (vocals, guitar), Shannon Kiley (cello, vocals), Quinn Pirie (percussion) and Evan Cook (6-string bass).
Kindred n.- a body of persons as a family, tribe or clan associated by origins, nature and qualities of character; those related by similar beliefs, attitudes or feeling.
Queer adj.- strange or odd from conventional viewpoint; usually indifferent; singular; deviating from the expected or socially excepted norm.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, July 16. FOLK/POP/SOUL: JOY IKE• Thursday, July 17. ROCK ‘N’ SOUL: BRONSON ROCK

• Friday, July 18. SURF MUSIC/ROCKABILLY: THE SIX PACK DUTCHMEN, TOM HEARN

• Wednesday, July 23. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PAUL BELBUSTI (MERCY CHOIR); LEILA CROCKETT (BABY G)

• Thursday, July 24. PROGRESSIVE FOLK ROCK: KINDRED QUEER

• Friday, July 25. EXPERIMENTAL GHOST POP: SIRENS

• Tuesday, July 29. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS AND HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, JULY 30, SOLO ACOUSTIC GUITAR: ROBERT MESSORE

• Thursday, July 31. ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Aug. 1. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI

• Monday, Aug. 4. LECTURE: MARK SCHENCKER DISCUSSES “THE REAL WORLD OF DOWNTON ABBEY”

• Thursday, Aug. 7. FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, Aug. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS (PONYBIRD); SAM PERDUTA

• Monday, Aug. 11. FILM SCREENING AND DISCUSSION: WITNESS

• Wednesday, Aug. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 14. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET

• Monday, Aug. 18. FILM SCREENING: DANNY SAYS (ROUGH CUT)

• Wednesday, Aug. 20. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 21. ROCK: ROPE

• Friday, Aug. 22. CABARET: RICH MORAN

• Thursday, Aug. 28. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Sept. 5. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Wednesday, Sept. 10. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Sept. 19. INDIE ROCK: EURISKO

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR