Music: Light Upon Blight to improvise score to “The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari” Thurs., June 18, at 8 PM

The improvisational group Light Upon Blight will improvise a film score to the silent movie classic “The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari” on Thursday, June 18. The performance begins at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover.

Light_Upon_Blight_cafe_nine_Web

Light Upon Blight

Much like volcanic eruptions, Light Upon Blight performances are uncompromising acts of spontaneous destruction and creation. Purging and destroying the old while simultaneously laying new, fertile ground. No two Light Upon Blight performances are ever the same, just as nature intended. Sounds like: Free Jazz with a noise aesthetic or an exorcism.

Still from "The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari"

Still from “The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari”

On June 18 they will harness those powers to add musical color to the 1920 German Expressionist film masterpiece “The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari.”

Roger Ebert wrote:

A case can be made that “Caligari” was the first true horror film. There had been earlier ghost stories and the eerie serial “Fantomas” made in 1913-14, but their characters were inhabiting a recognizable world. “Caligari” creates a mindscape, a subjective psychological fantasy. In this world, unspeakable horror becomes possible.

“Caligari” is said to be the first example in cinema of German Expressionism, a visual style in which not only the characters but the world itself is out of joint. I don’t know of another film that used its extreme distortions and discordant angles, but its over-all attitude certainly cleared the way for “The Golem,” “Nosferatu,” “Metropolis” and “M.” In one of the best-known books ever written about film, From Caligari to Hitler, the art historian Siegfried Kracauer argued that the rise of Nazism was foretold by the preceding years of German films, which reflected a world at wrong angles and lost values. In this reading, Caligari was Hitler and the German people were sleepwalkers under his spell.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, June 10. SINGER-SONGWRITER: KATH BLOOM, DAN GREENE

• Thursday, June 11. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS & THE CYGNET SISTERS

• Friday, June 12. BLUEGRASS: THE WOOL HATS STRING BAND

• Monday, June 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH, GLUMPUPPET

• Thursday, June 18: SILENT FILM with MUSIC: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT scores “THE CABINET OF DR. CALIGARI”

• Friday, June 19. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Wednesday, June 24. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA (CD RELEASE SHOW!)

• Thursday, June 25. CONTRA DANCE/FOLK: WRY BRED

• Friday, June 26. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Wednesday, July 1. ART SONG: TWINS OF EL DORADO; JAZZ: WORK AND WHY WE DO IT

• Friday, July 3. BLUEGRASS: THE DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Thursday, July 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: CHRIS PETERS

• Friday, July 10. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITER: DEEPER SLEEPER

• Friday, July 17. PIANO POP/PAINTING: POCKET VINYL

• Wednesday, July 22. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Friday, July 24. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: ANNE MARIE MENTA, SHELLYE VALAUSKAS

• Friday, July 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SAMUEL BASS

• Thursday, Aug. 6. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT

• Friday, Aug. 7. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Friday, Aug. 21. BLUEGRASS: FIDDLE FOREVER

• Tuesday, Aug. 25. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANGELA EASTERLING