Music: Lines West plays Wed., Feb. 4, at 8 PM

Lines_West_WebBridgeport-based alt-Americana/roots group Lines West play the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Feb. 4. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

“Stop Look and Listen,” the first full-length from Bridgeport, Connecticut’s Lines West. Compared to Wilco and Big Star, Lines West feature a wide range of American rock traditions. Lines West is a four-piece group co-fronted by John Radzin on guitar and vocals and Brian Larney on keyboard, guitar, and vocals. Radzin and Larney formed Lines West in May 2013. “Stop Look and Listen” was co-produced by Radzin and Larney (under their production moniker JAYBEE).

Fueled by the songwriting tandem of Radzin and Larney, “Stop Look and Listen” is a unique blast of rootsy pop/rock described by Review Stalker as as “perfectly crafted pop songs that should be all over terrestrial radio at the very least”.

Radzin was born in Wisconsin, where he learned to camp, build fires, and wear cowboy boots. Long car rides across the prairie were spent singing harmonies with his mother, brother and sisters, and once he picked up a guitar, he never looked back. After formally studying music at the University of Wisconsin, Radzin spent two years in London, absorbing what he could of that music scene before departing for Los Angeles. He spent eight years in Los Angeles, working as an engineer with artists as diverse as Slash and Neil Diamond. Radzin left the studio world to front L.A. heavy-pop trio (and KCRW favorite) Magnified before moving to Connecticut.

Larney also brings to Lines West a wealth of music industry experience. Larney released his second solo record, “Jupiter With You,” on July 22. His debut solo album, “At the Starting Line,” was recorded at famed studio SUMA Recording in Ohio and was produced by Grammy-nominated David Mayfield in the winter of 2013. “At the Starting Line” earned Larney rave reviews from fans and critics alike: “Larney’s charisma and voice are distinctive enough to pull off anything he wants to do.” (Wildy Haskell, Wildy’s World)

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Jan. 29. THEATER READING: “COZY BEACH” by STEVE BELLWOOD

• Friday., Jan. 30. JAZZ: URI SHAHAM

• Wednesday, Feb. 4. ALT-COUNTRY: LINES WEST

• Friday, Feb. 6. AVANT-GARDE: RIVENER, LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Monday, Feb. 9. FILM SCREENING: “LOST HORIZON”

• Wednesday, Feb. 11. JAZZ: BRETT BOTTOMLEY

• Thursday, Feb. 12. INDIE ROCK: HAPPY ENDING, LYS GUILLORN

• Friday, Feb. 13. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Monday, Feb. 16. FILM SCREENING: “ABOUT SCHMIDT”

• Wednesday, Feb. 18. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ILANA ZSIGMOND

• Friday, Feb. 20. INDIE ROCK: THE MOUNTAIN MOVERS

• Monday, Feb. 23. FILM SCREENING: “CRIMES AND MISDEMEANORS”

• Thursday, Fen. 26. BLUEGRASS: CHURCH SECTS

• Friday, Feb. 27. FUNK/ROCK: HOLIDAY PING

• Monday, Mar. 2. FILM SCREENING: “THE SWIMMER”

• Thursday, Mar. 5. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Mar. 6. JAZZ: NICK DiMARIA WiRED

• Monday, Mar. 9. FILM SCREENING: “GRAN TORINO”

• Monday, Mar. 16. FILM SCREENING: “NOW, VOYAGER”

• Monday, Mar. 23. FILM SCREENING: “UP IN THE AIR”

• Friday, April 3. AVANT-GARDE: ZERO DOLLAR

• Thursday, Apr. 9. 150th ANNIVERSARY OF APPOMATTOX/FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, April 17. WPKN BENEFIT

• Friday, May 1. FILM FEST: “A DARK ROOM”

• Wednesday, Aug. 26. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS