UPDATED: Postponed! Music: Luke Rodney and band to play Wed., July 29, at 8 PM

Luke_Rodney_BV_093013_WebUPDATE 7/23/15: Due to circumstances beyond our control, this show is being postponed. We will post a new date as soon as we can confirm one with Luke Rodney.

Luke Rodney returns to Best Video to perform on Wednesday, July 29. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

A native of Trinidad and Tobago, Rodney resides in Branford. A drummer, Rodney has played with many bands from his home country as well as numerous groups in the New Haven area, including the Cobalt Rhythm Kings, Inity, Jah Movements, St. Luke’s Steelband and his main group, White-eyed Lizard. Rodney’s performance at the Best Video Performance Space last September was his first concert performing his original music.

Rodney began playing the ukelele about three years ago, inspired by an old children’s guitar he found in a dumpster, which he repaired with the thought of giving to his two young children.

“When I got to four strings, I decided to keep it and tune it as a cuatro. I began hearing chords for the original songs I wrote,” says Rodney. “Many years ago a school teacher Juan O’Garo taught me three chords: C, F, G7. Those came in as my base for finding my way around the uke.”

Rodney has been writing his Caribbean-inflected music since the 1970′s. He recently released his first solo CD of his original songs, “Ta Te, Ta Ta.”

“I am grateful for all the people who give me their time and support to help with this venture,” says Rodney. “The music is raw and natural. The intent is to bring a happy feeling to whomever hears it. I want to make a difference in the world as a person and with my music.”

UPCOMING MUSIC:

• Tuesday, July 21. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC MUSIC: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Wednesday, July 22. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN (Former members of JAMES VELVET’S groups THE LONESOME SPARROWS & THE IVORY BILLS)

• Thursday, July 23. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: SHAUN BOWEN, KEVIN MF KING

• Friday, July 24. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: ANNE MARIE MENTA, SHELLYE VALAUSKAS

• Wednesday, July 29. CARIBBEAN/FOLK: THE LUKE RODNEY BAND

• Thursday, July 30. CABARET/CROONING/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Friday, July 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SAMUEL BASS, BELLE

• Thursday, Aug. 6. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, BILL ARNOLD

• Friday, Aug. 7. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Wednesday, Aug. 12. ELECTRONIC IMPROVISATION: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI & DEREK PIOTR

• Thursday, Aug. 13. INDIE FOLK: KINDRED QUEER

• Wednesday, Aug. 19. FOLK: WALKINGWOOD MANDOLIN QUARTET

• Thursday, Aug. 20. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Friday, Aug. 21. BLUEGRASS: FIDDLE FOREVER

• Tuesday, Aug. 25. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Friday, Aug. 28. FILM SCREENING: “HEAD” (CT-PRODUCED LIVE PUPPET HORROR FEATURE)

• Wednesday, Sept. 9. COMEDY OPEN MIC WITH JAKE NIETOPSKI

• Tuesday, Sept. 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: HANNAH FAIR

• Wednesday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANGELA EASTERLING

• Thursday, Oct. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI

• Friday, Oct. 23. ALT-COUNTRY: TANNERSVILLE