Music: Mercy Choir, Bill Beckett on Fri., Aug. 7, at 8 PM

Mercy Choir and guitarist Bill Beckett plays the Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Aug. 7. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Mercy Choir is the songwriting and recording project of New Haven, CT based musician Paul Belbusti. Over the past decade, Paul has produced a large quantity of critically acclaimed music ranging from abstract experiments to more traditional pop and rock and roll. Among his latest releases are the scattershot “His Noiseless Ball, His Boxwood Rattle” and the punishing experimental “PPIANO.” A full band reworking of classic songs from his back catalog, “Mercy Choir Sings In The Traditional Rock And Roll Style,” is slated to come out at the beginning of September.

Paul Belbusti and Chris Zollo.

Paul Belbusti and Chris Zollo.

For this show, Belbusti plays guitar and sings and Chris Zollo accompanies on keyboards.

Bill Beckett describes the music he is playing as “melodic, modal, dreamy.” Among the myriad influences he names are “Elizabethan, Medieval, 19th-20th century French Classical, Afghani, Indian, Psychedelic, The Hagakure, and Films in general.” Artists name-checked by Beckett are “Miles Davis, Joni Mitchell, Purcell, Debussy, Satie, Ravel, Kurosawa, Fellini, Jim Jarmusch, and John Fahey.”

Bill_Beckett_BV_Hipsta_041615_Web

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Aug. 6. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, BILL ARNOLD

• Friday, Aug. 7. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Wednesday, Aug. 12. ELECTRONIC IMPROVISATION: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI & DEREK PIOTR

• Thursday, Aug. 13. INDIE FOLK: KINDRED QUEER

• Friday, Aug. 14. ROCK: THE FURORS, TOM HEARN

• Wednesday, Aug. 19. FOLK: WALKINGWOOD MANDOLIN QUARTET

• Thursday, Aug. 20. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Friday, Aug. 21. BLUEGRASS: FIDDLE FOREVER

• Tuesday, Aug. 25. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Aug. 27. AMERICANA: PATRICK DALTON & MIKE SKAGGS

• Friday, Aug. 28. FILM SCREENING: “HEAD” (CT-PRODUCED LIVE PUPPET HORROR FEATURE)

• Friday, Sept. 4. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Wednesday, Sept. 9. COMEDY OPEN MIC WITH JAKE NIETOPSKI

• Thursday, Sept. 10. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA

• Friday, Sept. 11. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNW MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Sept. 16. CARIBBEAN/FOLK: LUKE RODNEY

• Friday, Sept. 18. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN

• Tuesday, Sept. 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: HANNAH FAIR

• Wednesday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANGELA EASTERLING

• Thursday, Oct. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI

• Friday, Oct. 23. ALT-COUNTRY: TANNERSVILLE

• Friday, Oct. 30. HALLOWEEN FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT