Music: Original funky jazz from Bamjam Thurs., July 19

A new jazz trio, Bamjam, play Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, July 19. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $10.

Bamjam is a vehicle for guitarist Michael Coppola’s “original, funky bluesy jazz tunes.” The music draws elements of Jazz, Blues, and Funk, with groove being laid down by Steve Clarke on bass and Chris Lyons on drums.

Coppola, who leads an open jazz jam each month at Café Nine will be demonstrating a whole other side of his playing, much more in the realm of Jeff Beck music, rather than the straight ahead jazz one would expect to hear from him. He riffs on 9-string guitar with distortion; it’s not to be missed.

Chris Lyons cut his musical teeth as a teen under the tutelage of Guitar George Baker, who recognized the innate groove in this young drummer. Chris went on to play with greats such as Mark Egan, Jeff Andrews and many more. Steve Clarke has been the most in demand electric bassist in Southern CT for years. Known for his funk and jazz chops, Steve has performed at numerous festivals and venues worldwide, with the likes of Mike Stern and Laco Deczi as well as R&B artists such as The Drifters, Mary Wells and the Coasters.

Michael Coppola has performed at venues such as the Montreal Jazz festival and the Namm show, as well as well known NYC clubs such as the Blue Note, The Iridium and Knickerbocker. He has played with artists such as Les Paul, Tommy Emmanuel.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Friday, July 13. BLUEGRASS: 5 IN THE CHAMBER

• Saturday, July 14. IMPROVISED MUSIC: GREX with special guest ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, July 15, 2 PM. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR DECADES OF HITCHCOCK: “PSYCHO” (1960)

• Monday, July 16, 6 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, July 18, 5-7 PM. 48 HOUR FILM PROJECT MIX, MINGLE & SCREENING

• Thursday, July 19. FUNKY BLUESY ORIGINAL JAZZ: BAM JAM

• Friday, July 20. JAZZ: THE TONY PURRONE TRIO

• Tuesday, July 24. FILM SCORES OF NINA ROTA: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Wednesday, July 25, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: TOWN MOUNTAIN (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Thursday, July 26. BLUEGRASS: THE DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Friday, July 27. FOLK: LOVERS LEAGUE; INDIE FOLK/POP: HYBIRD (RAVI KRISHNASWAMI)

• Wednesday, Aug. 1. AVANT-GARDE: EVAN MILLER, HUMAN FLOURISHING

• Friday, Aug. 3. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH

• Sunday, Aug. 5, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON MONTHLY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Aug. 6, 7:30 PM. TRIVIA 237—A BEST VIDEO MONTHLY TRIVIA NIGHT

• Thursday, Aug. 9. FOLK: STAN SULLIVAN

• Saturday, Aug. 11, 6 PM. COUCH YETI BOOKING PRESENTS NO BETTER, more TBA

• Wednesday, Aug. 15. ROOTS/ALT-COUNTRY: BLUE PONTIAC

• Thursday, Aug. 16. JAZZ: DAVID CHEVAN—”LETTERS FROM THE AFFAIR” WORLD PREMIERE

• Friday, Aug. 17. BLUEGRASS: PHIL ROSENTHAL & DAVE KIPHUTH

• Sunday, Aug. 19, 2-4 PM. IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Aug. 20, 6 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wed., Aug. 22. CONTRA DANCE MUSIC: WRY BRED

• Thursday, Aug. 23. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: JON SCHLESINGER, BOP TWEEDIE

• Friday, Aug. 24. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE FURORS; ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Wed., Aug. 29. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, Aug. 30. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: MARK MIRANDO, RICHARD NEAL, BOB CSUGIE, FRANK CRITELLI

• Friday, Aug. 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Sept. 2, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON MONTHLY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Sept. 3, 7:30 PM. TRIVIA 237—A BEST VIDEO MONTHLY TRIVIA NIGHT

• Wednesday, Sept. 5. POP PUNK: DAGWOOD

• Friday, Sept. 7. JAZZ: GEORGE LESIW BAND

• Friday, Sept. 14. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: ROBERT MESSORE, STEPHEN NYSTRUP

• Sunday, Sept. 16, 2-4 PM. IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Sept. 17, 6 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Saturday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Monday, Sept. 24, 7:30 PM. REMEMBERED IN THEIR OWN WORDS: A MEMORIAL READING FOR DONALD HALL & JANE KENYON​

• Thursday, Sept. 27, 7 PM. INDIE ROCK: PLANET WHAT (TULSA, OK), VIET RAHM (CHICAGO), DR. MARTINO, COMMERCIAL INTERRUPTION

• Friday, Sept. 28. AFRO-FUNK FUSION: THE LOST TRIBE

• Saturday, Sept. 29. JUG BAND MUSIC: WASHBOARD SLIM & THE BLUE LIGHTS

• Monday, Oct. 1, 7:30 PM. TRIVIA 237—A BEST VIDEO MONTHLY TRIVIA NIGHT

• Tuesday, Oct. 2, 7 PM. LITERARY READING: ALICE MATTISON, SANDI KAHN SHELTON

• Tuesday, Oct. 9. BLUEGRASS: THE ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Friday, Oct. 12. DEEP HAMDEN FESTIVAL: PAT STONE & THE DIRTY BOOTS, VAL McKEE

• Saturday, Oct. 13. DEEP HAMDEN FESTIVAL: ALLEN LOWE—A LOVE SUPINE (with ADAM MATLOCK, BENJAMIN SMITH, ESDRAS LUBIN, JEFF CEDRONE, BOB GORRY)

• Sunday, Oct. 14. DEEP HAMDEN FESTIVAL: BRIAN JARAWA GRAY, LITLLE SILVER

• Wednesday. Oct. 17. ELM CITY NOISE FEST: performers TBA

• Friday, Oct. 19, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Oct. 26, 7 PM. ANNUAL HALLOWEEN SPECIAL: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT ENSEMBLE scores HORROR FILM

• Friday, Nov. 2. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND, ELISA FLYNN

• Monday, Nov. 5, 7:30 PM. TRIVIA 237—A BEST VIDEO MONTHLY TRIVIA NIGHT

• Friday, Nov. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: KENNY & AMANDA SMITH (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Monday, Dec. 3, 7:30 PM. TRIVIA 237—A BEST VIDEO MONTHLY TRIVIA NIGHT

• Friday, Dec. 7, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)