Music: Parker’s Tangent returns with classic rock sound Wed., Oct. 12

parkers_tangent_bvfcc_032416_webParker’s Tangent plays Best video Performance Space on Wednesday., Oct. 12. The show starts at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover.

Parker’s Tangent based out of New Haven, CT plays blues and roots based original art rock. The music can be poetic, quiet and touching to bluesy to out and out rocking. This is a professional group that has a lot of fun performing and that fun is picked up by the audience.

The band’s lineup is comprised of a female lead singer whose wonderful, warm sultry voice has been compared to Grace Slick and Norah Jones, drums [also female] guitar, bass, and violin! This is a professional all-star group with each of the musicians having many, many years of experience in other local bands. While the group plays primarily electric they are able to perform acoustically [“unplugged”] as well.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

• Monday, Oct. 10. FILM SCREENING: “ALL THE PRESIDENT’S MEN”

• Tuesday, Oct. 11. FILM SCREENING: “ELMER GANTRY”

• WEdnesday, Oct. 12. ROCK/BLUES: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Oct. 14. CELTIC/APPALACHIAN: REELIN’ AWAY

• Sunday, Oct. 16. FILM SCREENING: “DR. STRANGELOVE…” (2 PM)

• Sunday, OCt. 16. KLEZMER JAM (6 PM)

• Thursday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE KOREY BRODSKY BAND

• Friday, Oct. 21. BLUEGRASS/POP: JACKSON’S ISLAND

• Saturday, Oct. 22. JAZZ JAM with ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE MALTESE FALCON”

• Wednesday, Oct. 26. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 27. CELTIC AMERICA: THE EBIN-ROSE TRIO; SINGER-SONGWRITER:  DOUGLAS ALAN

• Friday, Oct. 28. HALLOWEEN SILENT FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT PLAYS TO “NOSFERATU”

• Saturday, Oct. 29. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “SPIRITED AWAY” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Sunday, Oct. 30. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE”

• Thursday, Nov. 3. ROCK: ROPE, THE TOMMYS

• Saturday, Nov. 5. AMERICANA: MATT WHEELER, GOODNIGHT BLUE MOON DUO

• Sunday, Nov. 6. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE ASPHALT JUNGLE”

• Thursday, Nov. 10. ALT-COUNTRY: SEPIATONE

• Friday, Nov. 11. FERNANDO PINTO PRESENTS JESSE TERRY & CALLAGHAN

• Sunday, Nov. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE AFRICAN QUEEN” (1 PM)

• Sunday, Nov. 13. KLEZMER JAM (6 PM)

• Thursday, Nov. 17. LITERARY READING: ALICE MATTISON

• Saturday, Nov. 19. JAZZ JAM with ALLEN LOWE

• Friday, Nov. 25. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: DAVE PETERSON (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Nov. 26. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE INCREDIBLE JOURNEY” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Saturday, Dec. 17. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE GOONIES” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)