Music: Procedure Club brings the noise pop on Fri., Mar. 27, at 8 PM

Procedure_Club_WebIndie rock recording artists Procedure Club resurface after a four-plus year hiatus with a show at Best Video on Friday, Mar. 27. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Procedure Club is a band from New Haven.  They formed in 2007, and had releases on Slumberland Records, Sixteen Tamborines (Japan), and Beko Disques (France) and others.

They haven’t had a record out since their 2010 album, “Doomed Forever.”  This hiatus is primarily because Adam Malec broke and/or lost recording equipment (including a hard drive with tons of cool new music on it) and secondarily because Andrea Belltower went away for graduate studies. Long time collaborator Tim Borkovski went out and bought a new sound card and other equipment so the band could get back to recording again. So that’s what they’ve all been doing lately in East Rock.

They are currently adding the finishing touches to a new album of songs that they are planning to release this Fall, hopefully on Safety Meeting Records. Adam Malec describes it as “a continuation of our melodic merger of chaos and order, but perhaps with an elevation in musical maturity, in an interesting way.” He didn’t really say that verbatim, because Tim is writing this and paraphrasing what he just said, but Adam agrees with it.  Andrea didn’t want to add anything, but stated that she wants the bio to be serious and short, even though she first suggested that it be written with a grand biblical-sounding tone. Adam just broke Andrea’s rice cooker. I’m not kidding. I thought he almost broke my Yamaha mixer last night when he dropped a computer monitor on it.

Procedure Club welcomes local noise artist and WPKN 89.5 FM DJ Kristianne Hall to the mix, layering in her unique brand of synthesized chaotic atmosphere, and everyone agrees that her contribution is fantastic and critical to the fullness of the live show.

Hark!  Hear this and Rejoice!  And those among us with weary and wayward hearts who dwell upon a soundless earth within the soundless space shall be filled with the musical grace and glory of wickedness conquered, and it shall be good.  Hopefully.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Mar. 18. MODERN ROCK SPOKEN WORD SONGSTRESS/INDIE FOLK ROCK: SHADOW & COMPANY

• Thursday, Mar. 19. RAGTIME/BLUES: THE RED HOTS

• Friday, Mar. 20. ALT-COUNTRY: THE HELLWIGS

• Monday, Mar. 23. FILM SCREENING: “UP IN THE AIR”

• Thursday, Mar. 26. ROCK: LA TUNDA

• Friday, Mar. 27. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Monday. Mar. 30. FILM SCREENING: “A LATE QUARTET”

• Thursday, April 2. ROCK/POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Apr. 3. AVANT-GARDE: FUCHSPRELLEN

• Wednesday, Apr. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, Apr. 9. 150th ANNIVERSARY OF APPOMATTOX/FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, Apr. 10. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, April 17. WPKN BENEFIT

• Thursday, Apr. 23. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC MUSIC: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, Apr. 24. BLUEGRASS: THE KOREY BRODSKY BAND

• Friday, May 1. FILM FEST: “A DARK ROOM”

• Wednesday, Aug. 26. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS