Music: Rock with Spectral Fangs on Fri., May 8, at 8 PM

Photo by Erin Waterfall

Photo by Erin Waterfall

Connecticut indie rock band Spectral Fangs play the Best Video Performance Space on Friday, May 8. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Originally a three-piece garage band with dreamy drifts, Spectral Fangs expanded in November 2012 to fit waves of reverb and power pop sensibilities. Now the band floats tight melodies high above a coalescence of ’60s soul, ’70s punk, irreverent ’90s rock and indie pop.

Spectral Fangs’ influences range from T.Rex and Belle and Sebastian to The Soft Boys, Dinosaur Jr., The dBs and The Left Banke. This reflects only a sliver of the vast music catalogue galvanizing the band—and the many projects that each Fang has embarked upon since they were teenagers growing up in the Tri-State Area.

For more than a decade prior to becoming Spectral Fangs, Joe, Tony and Jared participated in Connecticut’s indie music scene, driving jangly, guitar-focused garage bands like The Saltwater Swells, JFK and The Field Recordings. This sound represented a logical progression from the frenetic punk rock urgency of their earliest band years, when they played New York City dives, famous Connecticut clubs and teen centers.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, May 7. CLASSICAL/JAZZ: PETRICHORD—SAMUEL SUGGS & MOLLY NETTER

• Friday, May 8. INDIE ROCK: SPECTRAL FANGS

• Wednesday, May 13. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: BIG FAT COMBO

• Thursday, May 14. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, May 15. ALT-COUNTRY: HEATHER FAY

• Thursday, May 21. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, May 22. ROCK: NOTHING SPECIAL

• Wednesday, May 27. BLUEGRASS: THE FIDDLEHEADS

• Thursday, May 28. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM

• Friday, May 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Thursday, June 4. AVANT-GARDE: ZERO DOLLAR, PARLAY DRONER

• Friday, June 5. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Monday, June 8. FILM SCREENING: “FINDING TATANKA”

• Friday, June 12. BLUEGRASS: THE WOOL HATS STRING BAND

• Thursday, June 18: SILENT FILM with MUSIC: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT scores “THE CABINET OF DR. CALIGARI”

• Friday, June 26. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Friday, July 17. PIANO POP/PAINTING: POCKET VINYL

• Wednesday, Aug. 26. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS