Music: Shadow performs Wed., Mar. 18, at 8 PM

image2_WebShadow performs at Best Video on Wednesday, Mar. 18. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Modern Rock/Spoken Word Songstress, Shadow carries 6 strings, 76 keys and a couple of sequencers to present poignant poetry, riveting rhythms, uncluttered yet vibrant choruses and melodies dancing up and down a 3-octave range to spew spoken word and song, with a ferocious flair to fan the flames that feed the fire, as a one woman, rock and roll medicine show spreading love from place to place.

Shadow shines in unconventional venues such as festivals, bookstores, coffeehouses, libraries, subways, parks, house concerts and art exhibits. Shadow’s videos and music can be seen and heard on www.divashadow.youtube.com

In 2013 Shadow was invited to become a member of The Singer/Songwriter Sessions at The Bitter End in New York City. Shadow completed her latest documentary “Behind The Pastie” A Peep Inside The World of Burlesque, showcasing the world famous Le Scandal Cabaret and Burlesque Theatre Company of NYC. Shadow is currently completing her BA in Music at Southern Connecticut State University, where she is president and founder of the SCSU Music Club.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Mar. 13. BLUEGRASS: THE WOOL HATS STRING BAND

• Monday, Mar. 16. FILM SCREENING: “NOW, VOYAGER”

• Wednesday, Mar. 18. MODERN ROCK SPOKEN WORD SONGSTRESS/INDIE FOLK ROCK: SHADOW & COMPANY

• Thursday, Mar. 19. RAGTIME/BLUES: THE RED HOTS

• Friday, Mar. 20. ALT-COUNTRY: THE HELLWIGS

• Monday, Mar. 23. FILM SCREENING: “UP IN THE AIR”

• Thursday, Mar. 26. ROCK: LA TUNDA

• Friday, Mar. 27. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Monday. Mar. 30. FILM SCREENING: “A LATE QUARTET”

• Thursday, April 2. ROCK/POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Thursday, Apr. 9. 150th ANNIVERSARY OF APPOMATTOX/FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, Apr. 10. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, April 17. WPKN BENEFIT

• Thursday, Apr. 23. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC MUSIC: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, Apr. 24. BLUEGRASS: THE KOREY BRODSKY BAND

• Friday, May 1. FILM FEST: “A DARK ROOM”

• Wednesday, Aug. 26. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS