Music: Singer-Songwriter Ilana Zsigmond to play Thurs., Aug. 8, at 8 PM

Ilana_Zsigmond_02_WebIlana Zsigmond will perform in the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Aug. 8. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Ilana Zsigmond is a word nerd of indeterminate age that likes Spider-Man, novelty band-aids, and semi-colons. If she could live entirely on fried rice and sci-fi movies, she would be truly happy. She currently makes music on planet earth with her cat Max and several pet humans that insist are her family.

Music has been a constant through her entire life. She began playing classical piano at 4 and guitar at 10. She draws a lot inspiration from The Shins, Bright Eyes and her parents.

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Thursday, Aug. 1. IMPROVISATION/WORLD MUSIC: SUPER TRANCE

• Monday, Aug. 5. FILM SCREENING: “ONLY HUMAN”

• Wednesday, Aug. 7. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Aug. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ILANA ZSIGMOND

• Monday, Aug. 12. FILM SCREENING: “CRASH”

• Wednesday, Aug. 14. GARAGE ROCK/PUNK: THE ESTROGEN HIGHS

• Thursday, Aug. 15. JAZZ: THE NICK Di MARIA QUARTET

• Monday, Aug. 19. FILM SCREENING: “THE WAR WITHIN”

• Thursday, Aug. 22. MULTI-MEDIA: HAPPENING/NOW

• Monday, Aug. 26. FILM SCREENING: “THE OTHER SON”

• Thursday, Aug. 29. SOLO POP: SOLIN