Music: Songwriters in the Round—Shawn Taylor, Glenn Roth, Frank Critelli—Thurs., Mar. 8

Songwriters Shawn Taylor, Glenn Roth and Frank Critelli perform in the round Thursday, Mar. 8. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is a sliding scale of $5-10, pay what you can in that range.

With a thumping thumb, dancing fingers, wailing harp, deep, gritty, soul stirring vocals and poetic blue collar lyrics, Shawn Taylor’s songs ooze American roots; wandering roots. He’s drawn comparisons from Tom Waites to Ray Lamontagne, Bruce Springsteen to Chris Smither, but his original songs are colored by the experiences of his own working class, wandering roots. He’s been an oysterman, carpenter, hitchhiker, homeowner, familly man, Appalachian Trail ‘thru-hiker’ and a performing musician and song writer, for over twenty years.

Shawn Taylor.

He plays venues from New England to Nashville and has shared the stage with artists such as, Maria Muldaur, Peter Mulvey, Vance Gilbert, Garnet Rodgers and Caravan of Thieves.

Glenn Roth is not your typical commuter from Connecticut. Instead of a briefcase, he carries a gig bag. His workspace is the vaulted splendor of Grand Central Terminal or the tunnels and platforms of the New York City subway system. A literal “underground” sensation, Glenn is a licensed performer in the MTA’s “Music under New York” program, playing for the most distracted and demanding audience in the world: legions of workers rushing to jobs throughout the Big Apple. And his fingers work magic, creating a soundscape of compelling melodies that invite them to leave the city rush behind on an aural escape.

Glenn Roth (Photo by Grace Pisano)

Roth is a fingerstyle guitarist, his thumb riding the bassline and the melody driving all. His compositions suggest multiple guitars, but it’s really just one guy, ten flying fingers, one instrument. All instrumental, Roth’s songs suggest moods and narratives that compel the listener to fill in the details.

Frank Critelli writes songs. He dabbles in haiku and other short poetry. He also writes other things. Like postcards.

Frank Critelli

Frank Critelli often performs live. Sometimes he performs solo, sometimes he is accompanied by one or more musical co-conspirators (“The Don” Horton: bass guitar, acoustic guitar; Shandy Lawson: lead guitar, mandolin; Mark Mirando: keys, guitar, backing vocals; Al Raebuck: guitar, backing vocals; Rich “Southbound” Suarez: drums; Jim Stavris: drums; Ed Leonard: percussion; Bumpy Chimes: guitar, misc) or in conjunction with other songwriters (most specifically, as part of the Times Three Tour with Christopher Bousquet and Mr. Ray Neal). Over the years he’s played in streets and subways, barrooms and classrooms, coffeehouses and colleges, theaters, festivals, and (most recently) in his kitchen.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Friday, Mar. 2. ACOUSTIC ROCK: RICHARD NEAL & THE BIRDMEN

• Sunday, Mar. 4, 10 AM-NOON. OSCARS BRUNCH

• Sunday, Mar. 4, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Mar. 5, 7 PM. LITERARY: A READING FOR AL-MUTANABBI STREET—DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Wednesday, Mar. 7. JAZZ/FUSION/CHAPMAN STICK: TOM GRIESGRABER; BRETT BOTTOMLEY

• Thursday, Mar. 8. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: SHAWN TAYLOR, GLENN ROTH, FRANK CRITELLI

• Friday, Mar. 9. POWER POP: THE GRAND PAR; LAINI

• Sunday, Mar. 11, 7 PM. SINGER-SONGWRITER/FREAK FOLK: KATH BLOOM, DAN GREENE (RESCHEDULED FROM FEB. 17)

• Wednesday, Mar. 14, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Mar. 15. VIDEO GAME MUSIC: DISCOCACTUS

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Mar. 18, 6 PM. NIGHT OF IRISH SONGS: CHARLIE KING, ANNIE PATTERSON & PETER BLOOD (TIX: https://www.riseupandsing.org/events/rising-moon-new-haven)

• Monday, Mar. 19, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Mar. 22. INDIE ROCK: TREADWELL, ANDREW PINTO

• Friday, Mar. 23. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SOLO DOUBLE BASS: CHARLES BERTHOUD

• Saturday, Mar. 24. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES; AUDIO JANE

• Tuesday, Mar. 27, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Mar. 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: TERRI & ROB DUO, R/S EQUINOX

• Friday, Mar. 30. BLUES ROCK: VANGE DURST; JAZZ/FOLK/ROCK: SEMAPHORA

• Sunday, Apr. 2, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Apr. 3, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Wednesday, Apr. 4. JAZZ: CHARTER OAK JAZZ

• Thursday, Apr. 5. POWER POP: THE MOLD MONKIES

• Tuesday, Apr. 10, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS/FOLK: ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Wednesday, Apr. 11, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Apr. 12. FOLK: FLINT LADDER

• Sunday, Apr. 15. STAND UP FOR STEVE SUNDAY

• Friday, Apr. 6. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR, LITTLE SILVER

• Friday, Apr. 13. BLUEGRASS/AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Monday, Apr. 16, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Apr. 19. ACOUSTIC ROCK: RICHARD NEAL with THE BIRDMEN (rescheduled from Mar. 2)

• Friday, Apr. 20. BLUEGRASS: MATT FLINNER TRIO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Apr. 21. FOLK/BLUES: WASHBOARD SLIM & THE BLUE LIGHTS PRESENTS AN EVENING WITH 4 CT BLUES/ROOTS DIVAS—LAUREN AGNELLI, SANDY CONNELLY, JILLIAN GREY & LYNN MALAVOLTI

• Tuesday, Apr. 24, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Apr. 26. INDIE ROCK: FIELD DAY, LOVE LOVE: AMERICANA

• Friday, Apr. 27. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS w/ TONY PURRONE

• Thursday, May 3. BLUES ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Sunday, May 6, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, May 9, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, May 11, 7 PM. STATE OF THE NATION: PROTEST MUSIC CABARET

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, May 18. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Sunday, May 20, 6 PM. INDIE ROCK: FUTURE TEENS, more TBA

• Monday, May 21, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, May 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Sunday, June 3, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Thursday, June 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JACOB JOHNSON (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Thursday, July 25, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: TOWN MOUNTAIN (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Aug. 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Nov. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: KENNY & AMANDA SMITH (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Dec. 7, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)