Music: Stark Raving Lulu to play Wed., Mar. 27, at 8 PM

Stark Raving Lulu play the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Mar. 27. The cover is $5 and the music starts at 8 PM.

Stark_Raving_Lulu_Web

What do you get when you combine The Shangri-Las (“Leader of the Pack,” “Give Him a Great Big Kiss”) with The Ramones? One answer might be Stark Raving Lulu. Based in Central Connecticut, the group’s “Welcome to the Fun-O-Sphere!” CD is available through iTunes and CD Baby and probably at the show, too.  On Facebook, the “grrrl rockers” list their influences as “punk, 60’s, garage rock, girl groups, rock and roll, PBR and Skinny Girl Margaritas” and their interests as “nonsense and shenanigans.” Band members are LaLa Lulu (vocals), Bella Lulu (guitar), LowEnd Lulu (bass) and BoomBoom Lulu (drums).

So you know it’s going to be fun.

How much fun? Check out this video of Stark Raving Lulu performing their song “All Hail to the Sucker Queen” at Two Boots Pizza in Bridgeport :

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Thursday, Mar. 28. FILM SCREENING: STEPHEN DEST’S “MY BROTHER JACK”

• Wednesday, Apr. 3. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Thursday, Apr. 4. CLASSICAL/BRAZILIAN: HAVEN STRING QUARTET with SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Apr. 10. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Thursday, Apr. 11. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Apr. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ESTHER GOLTON

• Monday, Apr. 22. FILM SCREENING FOR “WHAT WOULD YOU DO?” SERIES: “WALK ON WATER”

• Thursday, Apr. 25. JAZZ: THE NICK Di MARIA QUARTET

• Sunday, May 5. FILM SCREENING & DISCUSSION: “ALL ME: THE LIFE AND TIMES OF WINFRED REMBERT”

• Wednesday, May 8. INDIE ROCK: POOLS ARE NICE, BUCK McGRANE