Music: The Anne Marie Menta Band on Friday, Jan. 8, at 8 PM

Anne_Marie_Menta_BV_040815_01_WebThe Anne Marie Menta Band plays Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Jan. 8. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Anne Marie Menta hails from New Haven, CT., where she has been a long time favorite singer/songwriter. She comes from a family of three brothers, where playing and listening to music was their great passion. Her musical credits include fronting various rock & roll, folk, and country bands as a singer/guitarist, including The Wanderers, Sugar Moon, Sky Riders, and Rodeo Radio. In the mid 90s, she decided to concentrate on her own original music, and those tunes of hers that she “snuck” into her cover band repertoire now became her main focus. But, the country, folk, and pop music that she loved continued to be an influence in her writing.

Anne Marie’s first two CDs of original music, “Untried & True” and “When the Love Ran Deep” were released in 1999 and 2004 to enthusiastic reviews and gained airplay throughout New England acoustic music programs. Her third CD, “Seven Secrets,” was released in late November 2009 and continues her lyrical and melodic style of songwriting, as well as collaborations with her producer and fellow songwriter and instrumentalist, Dick Neal. She has been a featured performer at the Eli Whitney Folk Festival in New Haven, CT. and opened for artists such as Richard Shindell, The Kennedys, and Eddie from Ohio. She was a finalist in the 2004 South Florida Folk Festival Singer/Songwriter competition, and a showcase artist at NERFA (New England Regional Folk Alliance.)

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Jan. 7. JAZZ: MICHAEL COPPOLA

• Friday, Jan. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Saturday, Jan. 9. ROCK: NOTHING SPECIAL

• Monday, Jan. 11. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “THE WALK”

• Thursday, Jan. 14. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, Jan. 15. SPACE ROCK: LANDING, COLORGUARD & LITUYA BAY

• Monday, Jan. 18. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “PAWN SACRIFICE”

• Thursday, Jan. 21. WORLD MUSIC/FOLK: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Monday, Jan. 25. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON”

• Thursday, Jan. 28. BLUEGRASS: THE DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Monday, Feb. 1. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “THE MARTIAN”

• Wednesday, Feb. 3. YIDDISH SWING/JAZZ VOCALS: THE SELTZER SISTERS of the NU HAVEN KAPELYE

• Thursday, Feb. 4. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SWAMP YANKEE, ALEXANDER

• Friday, Feb. 5. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITER: MERCY CHOIR, PAGEANT DOVE

• Monday, Feb. 8. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “SICARIO”

• Friday, Feb. 12. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Monday, Feb. 15. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “SUFFRAGETTE”

• Friday, Feb. 19. GUITARISTS/SINGER-SONGWRITERS: RANDY COLLINS, IAN ETHAN CASE

• Monday, Feb. 22. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “99 HOMES”

• Friday, Feb. 26. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Thursday, Mar. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOY IKE

• Friday, Mar. 4. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Friday, Mar. 11. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Thursday, Mar. 24. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Thursday, Mar. 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI