Music: The Dress-Ups and The Sawtelles on Fri., Sept. 12, at 8 PM

A double bill is scheduled for Friday, Sept. 12, featuring The Dress-Ups and The Sawtelles. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Julie Beman and her band, The Dress-Ups, celebrate the release of her debut EP Movie.

Julie’s songs have been described as “dreamy, with a surreal depth” by Christopher Aloysius Mariotti of Lonesome Noise. Lys Guillorn, singer/songwriter, has called Julie’s songs “gorgeous, infused with wonder and smart wordplay.”

The Dress-Ups are known for unexpected harmonies and a sense of tasteful mischief. They deliver bright and melancholy songs with a strong retro feel. Devoid of cynicism and frequently funny, Dress-Ups performances resonate with the Eternal Broken Heart or blossom into expressions of pure joy.

Julie is joined by singers Allison Holst-Grubbe and Caresse Amenta. Allison plays the piano and Caresse plays glockenspiel and various shaken and jangling things. Rich Germain plays drums and Eric Bloomquist plays bass.

The Dress-Ups

The music of husband and wife duo the Sawtelles is a balance of four elements: alternate-tuned guitar, stand-up drum kit (ala Velvet Underground’s Mo Tucker) and two voices. Sparse but intricately arranged pop that is as lush as it is threadbare makes what is played as important as what isn’t. Peter plays guitar and Julie plays drums; they both sing. Their sparse but intricately arranged pop is as lush as it is captivatingly unique.

The Sawtelles will be joined for this set by Best Video’s own Richard Brown—who also plays in Happy Ending—on guitar and sax.

The Sawtelles with Richard Brown on sax

Their self-produced DYI philosophy aligns them more with the hand painted Sun Ra LP’s of 1950’s and 60’s then it does with those striving for mainstream commercial success. They have released 6 CDs.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Sept. 11. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, JACKET THOR

• Friday, Sept. 12. CHORAL ROCK, INDIE ROCK: THE DRESS-UPS (CD RELEASE!), THE SAWTELLES

• Wednesday, Sept. 17. NEO-FOLK/RAGTIME: AMY KUCHARIK

• Thursday, Sept. 18. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Sept. 19. INDIE ROCK: EURISKO

• Wednesday, Sept. 24. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Sept. 25. JAZZ: THE ELLIGERS BROTHERS

• Friday, Sept. 26. INDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE, THE SHRINNIRS

• Sunday, Sept. 28. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “BECAUSE OF WINN-DIXIE”

• Monday, Sept. 29. FILM SCREENING: “A RIVER RUNS THROUGH IT”

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 2. ORIGINAL INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC/JAZZ: GEORGE LESIW BAND

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR

• Sunday, Oct. 5. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “FLY AWAY HOME”

• Monday, Oct. 6. FILM SCREENING: “CAST AWAY”

• Wednesday, Oct. 8. AMERICANA: GOODNIGHT BLUE MOON

• Thursday, Oct. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Sunday, Oct. 12. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “BABE”

• Monday, Oct. 13. FILM SCREENING: “CAPE FEAR” (Original)

• Wednesday, Oct. 15. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN of MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Sunday, Oct. 19. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ANNIE”

• Monday, Oct. 20. FILM SCREENING: “DELIVERANCE”

• Thursday, Oct. 23. CABARET/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Sunday, Oct. 26. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “SHORT CIRCUIT”

• Monday, Oct. 27. FILM SCREENING: “THE SWIMMER”

• Wednesday, Oct. 29. ECLECTIC POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, Oct. 30. “SONGS OF MISERY, DESPAIR & THE SUPERNATURAL”: DAVID, SHELDON AND GAIL

• Sunday, Nov. 2. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ABBOTT & COSTELLO MEET FRANKENSTEIN”

• Monday, Nov. 3. FILM SCREENING: “The NIGHT OF THE HUNTER”

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Thursday, Nov. 20. FILM SCREENING: “SEVEN DAYS IN MAY”