Music: The Furors on Thurs., July 3, at 8 PM

New Haven rock ‘n’ roll legends The Furors will perform on Thursday, July 3. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover charge is $5.

Comprised of guitarist Derek Holcomb and drummer Tom Dans—Holcomb sings lead and Dans harmonizes—The Furors have been playing together for over three decades. They have self-released numerous vinyl 45s, a vinyl LP and several compact discs. Their catalog is so beloved among local musicians that a tribute album, “Let’s Get Furious,” was released in 2003 featuring 38 Furors songs covered by 38 local musicians and groups.

The Furors

The Furors

The Furors’ music is joyful, quirky three-minute pop, like a cross between They Might Be Giants and early British Invasion rock ‘n’ roll.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, June 18. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, June 19. GARAGE POP/PSYCHEDELIC ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Wednesday, June 25. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Thursday, June 26. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, June 27. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU

• Sunday, June 29. BEST VIDEO FUNDRAISER

• Wednesday, July 2. ROCK: EXTRASENSORY

• Thursday, July 3. BUOYANT POP ROCK: THE FURORS

• Wednesday, July 9. CLASSICAL GUITAR: ORPHÉE RUSSELL

• Thursday, July 10. FOLK: THE HEATH SISTERS

• Wednesday, July 16. FOLK/POP/SOUL: JOY IKE

• Thursday, July 17. ROCK ‘N’ SOUL: BRONSON ROCK

• Friday, July 18. SURF MUSIC, ROCKABILLY: THE SIX PACK DUTCHMEN, TOM HEARN

• Thursday, July 24. PROGRESSIVE FOLK ROCK: KINDRED QUEER

• Tuesday, July 29. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS AND HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, July 30. FOLK MUSIC: ROBERT MESSORE

• Thursday, July 31. ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Aug. 1. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI

• Wednesday, Aug. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 14, ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET