Music: The Furors play rock ‘n’ roll Wed., Jan. 4

furors_bv_120314_02_webNew Haven rock ‘n’ roll legends The Furors play Best Video Performance Space again Wednesday, Jan. 4. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Comprised of guitarist Derek Holcomb and drummer Tom Dans—Holcomb sings lead and Dans harmonizes—The Furors have been playing together for over three decades. They have self-released numerous vinyl 45s, a vinyl LP and several compact discs. Their catalog is so beloved among local musicians that a tribute album, “Let’s Get Furious,” was released in 2003 featuring 38 Furors songs covered by 38 local musicians and groups.

The Furors’ music is joyful, quirky three-minute pop, like a cross between They Might Be Giants and early British Invasion rock ‘n’ roll.

Watch them perform their song “Hey Joni” at Best Video in 2014:

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Dec. 29. JAZZ: MICHAEL COPPOLA

• Friday, Dec. 30. IMPROVISED/AVANT-GARDE: NAGUAL, THE ZACH ROWDEN + CHRIS CRETELLA DUO, CONOR PERREAULT (HUMAN FLOURISHING)

• Wednesday, Jan. 4. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE FURORS

• Friday, Jan. 6. ACOUSTIC FOLK BLUES & MORE: VANGE DURST

• Saturday, Jan. 7. MUSIC OF “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Sunday, Jan. 8. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Jan. 11. AMERICANA: PLYWOOD COWBOY

• Thursday, Jan. 12. FILM SCREENING: “LANDLORD” (WEB SERIES)

• Friday, Jan. 13. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Wednesday, Jan. 18. POSTMODERN JAZZ STANDARDS: MÉLANGE À TROIS

• Thursday, Jan. 19. GOTH/SHOEGAZE: TELEGRAM SCAM

• Friday, Jan. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Thursday, Jan. 26. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: THE BOSSA NOVA PROJECT

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Jan. 30. FILM SCREENING: SEAN KERNAN’S “CROW STORIES”

• Wednesday, Feb. 1. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & TONY LOMBARDOZZI

• Friday, Feb. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, Feb. 9. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, Feb. 10. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING, MERCY CHOIR (solo)

• Friday, Feb. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ALEX BLAIR

• Friday, Feb. 24. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Saturday, Feb. 25. MUSIC: “SHALL WE TALK ABOUT THE GOVERNMENT?”

• Friday, March 3. FREAK FOLK: THELMA, HALF WAIF

• Friday, Mar. 10. POP: THE DRESS-UPS

• Thursday, Mar. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM, KATHY MUIR