Music: Three songwriters in the round—Anne Marie Menta, Richard Neal, Glen Roethel—Fri., May 13

Singer-songwriters Anne Marie Menta, Richard Neal and Glen Roethel perform in the round this Friday, May 13. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

051316_Birthday_show_Web

Anne Marie Menta is a long-time New Haven area songwriter with three CDs to her name and a fourth in the planning stages. Her personal folk/pop tunes deal with the usual themes of love, loss and family, but aim to bring the listener to the not-so -so usual place of recognition, solace and hope. Anne Marie is happy to be celebrating her birthday on May 13th and invites you to join her in birthday cake!

Glen Roethel is an award-winning New York-based, California-born contemporary Folk-Pop-Rock singer-songwriter-entertainer, music producer, and accompanist to the stars. He delivers his own songs (and thousands of cover songs) with lush baritone-tenor vocals supported by deft guitar and ukulele, often improvising new songs on-the-fly.

Richard Neal is a multi-instrumentalist, producer, session musician, teacher, songwriter, sideman, and performer, who has just released a new collection of recordings entitled “A Step Up”. It features 10 of his original compositions and was produced by Rex Fowler (Aztec Two Step, The Utopians).

With three distinct songwriting styles, a splendid time is guaranteed for all!

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Monday, May 9. FILM SCREENING: “FRUITVALE STATION”

• Tuesday, May 10. ECLECTIC: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS, PRETEND IT DIDN’T HAPPEN, THE HUMAN LIGHT BOX

• Wednesday, May 11. FILM SCREENING: BRIAN ROBINSON PRESENTS “THE APPLE”

• Friday, May 13. THREE SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, DICK NEAL, GLEN ROETHEL

• Saturday, May 14. FILM SCREENING/WINE & CHEESE TASTING: VINO/NOIR

• Monday, May 16. FILM SCREENING: “SARAH’S KEY” (in partnership with the Jewish Community Center of New Haven)

• Wednesday, May 18. BLUES: CODA BLUE

• Thursday, May 19. EXPERIMENTAL: RIVENER, CRETELLA|PAOLUCCI DUO, ID M THEFT ABLE & FLANDREW FLEISENBERG

• Friday, May 20. JAZZ VOCALS & GUITAR: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER

• Thursday, May 26. EXPERIMENTAL: ELECTRONHIC

• Friday, May 27. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Thursday, June 2. HALFWAY TO GUITAR NIGHT: SHAWN PERSINGER, NANCY TUCKER, NORMAN PLNKEY, ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, June 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR

• Thursday, June 9. CABARET/SINATRA: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Thursday, June 16. CHRISTOPHER ARNOTT & LYS GUILLORN CELEBRATE BLOOMSDAY

• Friday, June 24. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH, ALT-COUNTRY: LINES WEST

• Thursday, June 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: EUGENE GALLAGHER, QUINN HARLEY

• Friday, July 1. POST-PUNK: TELEGRAM SCAM

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, EARTHLINGS

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL