“Reel Life—A Stand-Up Comedy Show” hosted by Kendra Dawsey Tues., Jan. 15, at 8 PM

Best Video Film & Cultural Center presents “Reel Life,” a new monthly stand-up comedy show that debuted in October, on Tuesday, Jan. 15, at 8 PM. Reel Life is hosted by Kendra Dawsey, a comic who also hosts a weekly open mic at Lyric Hall in Westville and has also performed at Best Video’s Second Wednesday Open Mic among other venues throughout New England. Cover is a sliding scale of $5-10—pay what you can within that range.

Also on the bill for Jan. 15 are comics Aviel Stern, Don Smith, Kathy Lynch, Andrew Steiner and Justin Silva.

Kendra Dawsey is an up and coming stand-up comic who has performed in clubs and showcases in NYC and all over New England, including Stonewall Inn, Comix @ Mohegan Sun, and ImprovBoston. She was also a featured comic on the Sirius XM radio program Paid or Pain. Kendra garners humor from her identity and experiences by blending anecdote with higher concepts. Never too proud to laugh at herself, Kendra endears audiences by inviting them to laugh with her.

• Aviel Stern connects with the audience through story telling and sharing her perspectives on dating, adulthood, and secret desires. Aviel Stern opened for stand-up comedians Joe List, Dave Hill, and David Feldman. Her skillful presence dazzles the stage in such areas as Boston, Providence, The Berkshires, and frequently in Connecticut. Aviel’s accomplished stand-up career includes opening at the OldCastle Theatre in Bennington, VT and Hartford Funny Bone, as well as being showcased on New York City’s exclusive Brooklyn apartment show “You’re Dating a DJ?”. While performing stand-up comedy, Aviel fulfills the active role as Co-Producer/Co-Founder of Tasty Chicks Comedy.

• Dom Smith is a stand-up comedian from Springfield, MA. He has just recently moved to the Boston area and has performed all across New England. Dom has been making audiences laugh with topics on dating, race relations, pop culture and more.

• Kathy Lynch is a stand up comic from western Massachusetts. She has performed in the Women In Comedy Festival, and at several colleges, bars, and clubs in New England, including ImprovBoston and the Comedy Studio. Her humor writing has been featured in Reductress and WICF Daily. Kathy’s material touches on embarrassing topics such as food allergies, rashes, and being a fake goth in middle school.

• Andrew Steiner, host of The Weirdball Podcast has performed all over the United States and Canada, has made out with trees, lived in a Zen Temple in Japan, and studied Kick Boxing in Thailand. With a mix of precision jokes and improvised lyrical prose, he makes audience feel like they’re right along with him for the adventure.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Monday, Jan. 7, 8 PM. TRIVIA 237—A MONTHLY BEST VIDEO MOVIE TRIVIA NIGHT

• Tuesday, Jan. 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Wednesday, Jan. 9, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Jan. 10, 7:30 PM. EXPERIMENTAL: KRISTINA WARREN, UNDERWEAR, ANNE RHODES

• Monday, Jan. 14. ONE MAN SHOW: SAL ANNUNZIATO—PART OF THE FAMILY: A MOB CHILDHOOD (SOLD OUT!)

• Tuesday, Jan. 15, 8 PM. REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP COMEDY SHOW HOSTED BY KENDRA DAWSEY

• Wednesday, Jan. 16. POP/ROCK: YOUTH XL, ROB NELSON

• Friday, Jan. 18. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE FURORS

• Sunday, Jan. 20, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Jan. 21, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Jan. 24. ACOUSTIC FOLK/CONTRA DANCE TUNES: WRY BRED

• Friday, Jan. 25. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Monday, Jan. 28, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING: NH DOCS—THE NEW HAVEN DOCUMENTARY FILM FESTIVAL & BVFCC PRESENT “TRAVEL LIGHT” with director LINDSAY THOMPSON

• Tuesday, Jan. 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Jan. 31. JAZZ: PAUL SHANLEY

• Sunday, Feb. 3. GUITARTOWN SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Feb. 4. MONTHLY MOVIE-RELATED TRIVIA NIGHT: TRIVIA-237

• Thursday, Feb. 7. INDIE FOLK: PODUNK THROWBACKS; KLEZMER: KLEZMER FUSION COLLECTIVE

• Friday, Feb. 8. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Saturday, Feb. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Wednesday, Feb. 13. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, Feb. 15. BRAZILIAN JAZZ: SAMBELEZA (REUNION!)

• Sunday, Feb. 17, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Feb. 18, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Feb. 19, 8 PM. REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP COMEDY SHOW HOSTED BY KENDRA DAWSEY

• Thursday, Feb. 21, 7:30 PM. SURF MUSIC: RENEGADE LOUNGE; POST ROCK/FUTURE SURF: PANGALACTIC

• Friday, Feb. 22. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Thursday, Feb. 28, 7:30 PM. SYNTH POP: FALCONEER

• Saturday, Mar. 2. INDIE POP ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Sunday, Mar. 3. GUITARTOWN SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Mar. 4. MONTHLY MOVIE-RELATED TRIVIA NIGHT: TRIVIA-237

• Tuesday, Mar. 5, 7 PM. LITERARY: A READING FOR AL-MUTANABBI STREET—DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Wednesday, Mar. 6. IMPROVISED MUSIC: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Thursday, Mar. 7. ROCK/PUNK/ROOTS: THE CHRISTIAN MARRONE TRIO; INDIE: GHOSTWOODS

• Friday, Mar. 8. INDIE ROCK: PHEOBE

• Wednesday, Mar. 13. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, Mar. 15. BLUES/ROCK: VANGE DURST

• Sunday, Mar. 17, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Mar. 18, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Mar. 19, 8 PM. REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP COMEDY SHOW HOSTED BY KENDRA DAWSEY

• Wednesday, Mar. 20. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, Mar. 21. SINGER-SONGWRITER: BRIAN DOLZANI TRIO

• Tuesday, Mar. 26, 7:30 PM. POETRY READING: CONNECTICUT POETRY SOCIETY

• Friday, Mar. 29. AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Tuesday, Apr. 2, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING: “JOURNEY OF THE UNIVERSE” (PRESENTED BY HAMDEN LAND TRUST)

• Thursday, Apr. 4. GUPSY JAZZ: DJANGO’S RESERVE

• Friday, Apr. 5. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, LYS GUILLORN, SHELLYE VALAUSKAS, KIERSTIN SIESER

• Thursday, Apr. 11. ACOUSTIC SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Apr. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY & JIM HURST (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Wednesday, April 17. ACOUSTIC FOLK ROCK: PAUL DECOSTER, EXPERIMENTAL ACOUSTIC: KAREN HOGG

• Friday, Apr. 26. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Tuesday, May 7, 7:30 PM. FILM SCREENING: “THE VILLAGE”

• Friday, May 24. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, May 30. IMPROVISED MUSIC: URS LEIMGRUBER, ADAM MATLOCK

• Tuesday, June 25, 7:30 PM. POETRY READING: CONNECTICUT POETRY SOCIETY

• Friday, Aug. 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: PHILLIPS, GRIER & FLINNER (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)