Music: Jazz with the Warren Byrd-David Chevan Duo on Thurs., Dec. 15

Afro-Celt

Warren Byrd and David Chevan.

The Warren Byrd-David Chevan Duo play Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Dec. 15. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $7.

Warren Byrd and David Chevan met at a Hartford jazz club and first started playing together in 1995. They played in various groups in jazz clubs all around Connecticut. Both open-minded musicians, they enjoyed interplay and communicating through improvisation. And so they began a friendship both on and off stage that has continued to this day. In 1997 they were invited to give a sermon in song at an MLK service at Congregation Mishkan Israel in Hamden. They added sacred music to their repertoire and began sharing their music in alternative performance spaces, namely houses of worship.

Since 1997 The Warren Byrd-David Chevan Duo and their group, The Afro-Semitic Experience, have given concerts across the United States in concert halls, churches, synagogues, schools and colleges. They have been featured artists at many festivals including the Detroit MusicFest, NY Noise Festival, the Washington D.C. Festival of Jewish Music, Greater Hartford Jazz Festival, the Paris Festival of Jewish Culture, and the International Festival of Arts and Ideas in New Haven. They have been featured in stories on NPR’s Weekend Edition with Scott Simon and Religion and Ethics Newsweekly on PBS.

The duo, along with their group, The Afro-Semitic Experience, has released eight critically acclaimed CDs.  Of their most recent CD, “Jazz Souls on Fire,” JazzTimes critic Carlo Wolff says: “This band makes losing oneself in music easy—and a pleasure.”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Dec. 8. AMERICANA: SEPIATONE

• Friday, Dec. 9. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY BAND (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Monday, Dec. 12. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “WINTER’S BONE”

• Thursday, Dec. 15. JAZZ: THE AFRO-SEMITIC DUO (DAVID CHEVAN & WARREN BYRD)

• Friday, Dec. 16. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Saturday, Dec. 17. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE GOONIES” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Dec. 19. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CONTACT”

• Wednesday, Dec. 21. AVANT-GARDE: RYAN KARHART

• Thursday, Dec. 22. HOLIDAY CONCERT: ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Dec. 23. ROOTS ROCK & HOLIDAY TUNES: BRONSON ROCK

• Thursday, Dec. 29. JAZZ: MICHAEL COPPOLA

• Wednesday, Jan. 4. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE FURORS

• Friday, Jan. 6. ACOUSTIC FOLK BLUES & MORE: VANGE DURST

• Saturday, Jan. 7. MUSIC OF “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, Jan. 13. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Thursday, Jan. 19. GOTH/SHOEGAZE: TELEGRAM SCAM

• Friday, Jan. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Friday, Jan. 27. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Friday, Feb. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Feb. 10. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING, PAUL BELBUSTI

• Friday, Feb. 24. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE