Music: On the anniversary of Appomattox, Civil War-era songs by Sheldon Campbell, Thurs., Apr. 9, at 8 PM

Sheldon_Campbell_BV_080714_2_WebFolksinger Sheldon Campbell performs Thursday, Apr. 9, at Best Video Performance Space. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Before the Civil War, people said ‘The United States are …’; afterward, they said “The United States is…’. On April 9th, 1865; 150 years ago, General Lee surrendered his army to General Grant at Appomattox, effectively ending the war, but the essential issues of the Civil War still resonate through our nation today; race, freedom of speech, war and peace, soldiers and civilians. The songs of that era are artifacts, made by the people of the time, and they can speak to us today. They’re also really great songs, from an era when people sang together. Come on out and hear the story of this great pivotal event in our history in song.

Sheldon Campbell performs a mix of traditional and original folk music.  A student of Robert Messore for guitar and Martha King for voice for over 10 years, Sheldon has performed at St. John’s coffee house in New Haven, on WSHU’s Profiles in Folk, in classes at the Yale School of Medicine (where he’s an award-winning teacher) and at national scientific meetings.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Apr. 3. AVANT-GARDE: FUCHSPRELLEN

• Wednesday, Apr. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, Apr. 9. 150th ANNIVERSARY OF APPOMATTOX/FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, Apr. 10. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Wednesday, Apr. 15. SYNTH-POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, Apr. 16. GUITAR INSTRUMENTALS: BILL BECKETT; INDIE FOLK: XAVIER SERRANO

• Friday, April 17. WPKN BENEFIT

• Wednesday, Apr. 22. AMERICANA/ROOTS: THE HELLWIGS

• Thursday, Apr. 23. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC MUSIC: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, Apr. 24. BLUEGRASS: THE KOREY BRODSKY BAND

• Thursday, Apr. 30. INDIE ROCK: loom

• Friday, May 1. FILM FEST: “A DARK ROOM”

• Friday, May 8. INDIE ROCK: SPECTRAL FANGS

• Friday, May 15. ALT-COUNTRY: HEATHER FAY

• Friday, July 17. PIANO POP/PAINTING: POCKET VINYL

• Wednesday, Aug. 26. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS