Music: The blues rock of Parker’s Tangent Thurs., Sept. 19

Parker’s Tangent plays Best Video Performance Space on Thursday., Sept. 19. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is a sliding scale $5-10 where people pay what they can in that range.

Parker’s Tangent based out of New Haven, CT plays blues and roots based original art rock. The music can be poetic, quiet and touching to bluesy to out and out rocking. This is a professional group that has a lot of fun performing and that fun is picked up by the audience.

The band’s lineup is comprised of a female lead singer whose wonderful, warm sultry voice has been compared to Grace Slick and Norah Jones, drums [also female] guitar, bass, and violin! This is a professional all-star group with each of the musicians having many, many years of experience in other local bands. While the group plays primarily electric they are able to perform acoustically [“unplugged”] as well.

The group for this show is Leslie Broatch (lead vocals), Ken Ryu (violin), Joseph Battad (rhythm guitar, backing vocals), Joe Rosano (drums, backing vocals,) “Malibu” Ken Ahlstrom (piano/keyboards), Thomas Fortuna Sr. (percussion), James Baldoni (bass, backing vocals), Arthur Bargar (lead/rhythm guitar, backing vocals, songwriter).

Click here for the complete list of upcoming events.

Music: Parker’s Tangent play Thurs., Mar. 24, at 8 PM

Parkers_Tangent_BV_081414_WebParker’s Tangent plays the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Mar. 24. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Parker’s Tangent based out of New Haven, CT plays blues and roots based original art rock. The music can be poetic, quiet and touching to bluesy to out and out rocking. This is a professional group that has a lot of fun performing and that fun is picked up by the audience.

The band’s lineup is comprised of a female lead singer whose wonderful, warm sultry voice has been compared to Grace Slick and Norah Jones, drums [also female] guitar, bass, and violin! This is a professional all-star group with each of the musicians having many, many years of experience in other local bands. While the group plays primarily electric they are able to perform acoustically [“unplugged”] as well.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Oct. 18. ALT-COUNTRY: NO LINE NORTH, THE VONZELLS

• Wednesday, Mar. 23. EXPERIMENTAL: THE FOREST ROOM, NICK Di MARIA: ZERO DOLLAR SOLO

• Thursday, Mar. 24. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Mar. 25. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DICK NEAL

• Monday, Mar. 28. FOLK: TREVOR HEALY/JASON LABBE DUO, CHUCK JOHNSON

• Wednesday, Mar. 30. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: WESTERN ESTATES, ZACH ANDERSEN

• Thursday, Mar. 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI, JOE FLOOD

• Friday, Apr. 1. BLUES ROCK: JUST US featuring NOAH KESSELMAN

• Sunday, Apr. 3. FREE 2 PM AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Apr. 4. FILM SCREENING: “THE BEST MAN”

• Wednesday, Apr. 6. INDIE ROCK presented by Redscroll Records: HEX INVERTER, DIRT DEVIL, NOTHING ISRAEL

• Thursday, Apr. 7. BLUES: THE MOODY’S BLUES

• Friday. Apr. 8. FOLK: HUGH BIRDSALL & DANA TAKAKI

• Monday, Apr. 11. FILM SCREENING: “THE CONTENDER”

• Thursday, Apr. 14. INDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE, BOX FAN

• Tues., Apr. 19. FILM SCREENING: “BULWORTH”

• Wednesday, Apr. 20. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Thursday, Apr. 21. INDIE FOLK: THE MID SEASON

• Friday, Apr. 22. JAZZ: REBECCA ABBOTT, GARY GRIPPO & FRIENDS

• Monday, Apr. 25. FILM SCREENING: “A FACE IN THE CROWD”

• Thursday, Apr. 28. SEPHARDIC MUSIC: THE HERETICS OF CORDOBA

• Monday, May 2. FILM SCREENING: “THE CANDIDATE”

• Friday, May 6. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Saturday, May 7. SOFT ACOUSTIC/ROCK: THE HERNANDEZ BROTHERS

• Monday, May 9. FILM SCREENING: “FRUITVALE STATION”

• Friday, May 13. THREE SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, DICK NEAL, GLEN ROETHEL

• Friday, May 20. JAZZ VOCALS & GUITAR: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL