Music: Jazz by The Monk Project Band on Thurs., Feb. 18, at 8 PM

Jazz quartet The Monk Project Band plays Best Video Performance space on Thursday, Feb. 18. The music starts at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover.

Bassist Bill Mangan, saxophonist Steve Asetta and drummer Ned Grant of The Monk Project Band.

Bassist Bill Mangan, saxophonist Steve Asetta and drummer Ned Grant of The Monk Project Band.

Thelonious Monk composed 70 songs yet it seems only three or four are regularly performed.

The bulk of the material requires careful attention to harmonic rhythms and unconventional meter and chord changes. As technical as this all sounds this music can be enjoyed with no prior knowledge as it contains humor and beauty in equal measure.

The Monk Project Band is dedicated to learning the entire Monk songbook and has begun with a wide assortment of tunes and an assortment of rhythms that reflect individual players’ experiences in Afro Pop, Latin, Blues, African and Salsa bands. The quartet is comprised of saxophonist Steve Asetta, keyboardist Will Iannuzzi, percussionist Ned Grant and bassist Bill Mangan.

Pianist Will Iannuzzi of The Monk Project Band.

Pianist Will Iannuzzi of The Monk Project Band.

Their Thelonious Monk repertoire is rounded out by lesser known material by Tadd Dameron, Duke Ellington/Billy Strayhorn, Herbie Nichols and others.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Monday, Feb. 8. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “SICARIO”

• Thursday, Feb. 11. FOLK MUSIC: HOMEMADE JAM

• Friday, Feb. 12. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Monday, Feb. 15. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “SUFFRAGETTE”

• Wednesday, Feb. 17. ACOUSTIC BLUES/FOLK: DITTYMACK

• Thursday, Feb. 18. JAZZ: THE MONK PROJECT BAND

• Friday, Feb. 19. GUITARISTS/SINGER-SONGWRITERS: RANDY COLLINS, IAN ETHAN CASE

• Monday, Feb. 22. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “99 HOMES”

• Wednesday, Feb. 24. BLUEGRASS: THE EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Friday, Feb. 26. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Monday, Feb. 29. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “SICARIO” (Rescheduled due to snow)

• Wednesday, Mar. 2. SINGER-SONGWRITER: BEN ERICKSON, STEPHEN HLADUN

• Thursday, Mar. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOY IKE

• Friday, Mar. 4. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Mar. 6. FILM SCREENING & Q&A WITH SCREENWRITER DONALD MARGULIES (Co-presented with The Institute Library): “THE END OF THE TOUR”

• Monday, Mar. 7. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “SUFFRAGETTE” (Rescheduled from 2/15 due to snow)

• Thursday, Mar. 10. EXPERIMENTAL: HUMAN FLOURISHING, LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Friday, Mar. 11. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Sunday, Mar. 13 FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Mar. 24. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Mar. 25. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DICK NEAL

• Wednesday, Mar. 30. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: EUGENE GALLAGHER, WESTERN ESTATES

• Thursday, Mar. 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI, JOE FLOOD

• Wednesday, Apr. 6. INDIE ROCK presented by Redscroll Records: HEX INVERTER, DIRT DEVIL, NOTHING ISRAEL

• Friday. Apr. 8. FOLK: HUGH BIRDSALL & DANA TAKAKI

• Thursday, Apr. 14. INDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE

• Saturday, May 7. SOFT ACOUSTIC/ROCK: THE HERNANDEZ BROTHERS

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL