“Vino Paradiso”: Autumn Harvest of Wine, Food & Film to benefit BVFCC Wed., Oct. 5, 5:30-7:30 PM

bob_feinn_pour_italy_map_webFor the benefit of Best Video Film & Cultural Center, we present “Vino Paradiso” on Wednesday, Oct. 5, from 5:30—7:30 PM. “Vino Paradiso” will be a wine tasting (with hors d’oeuvres served) led by Bob Feinn from Mt Carmel Wine and Spirits and local wine wholesalers in the round.

Tickets are $25 per person. Call BVFCC at (203) 287-9286 for reservations.

What better way to support your local grassroots cultural center than with a joyous evening sampling and learning about fine wines from local experts? Attendees have raved about our previous wine-tasting events and we expect this one to raise the oenophile bar.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Sunday, Sept. 25. FILM SCREENING (7 PM): “THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE”

• Tuesday, Sept. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH, CK, GLUMPUPPET

• Wednesday, Sept. 28. BRAZILIAN CHORO MUSIC: ROGÉRIO SOUZA, EDINHO GERBER & STEPHEN GUERRA

• Thursday, Sept. 29. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SWAMP YANKEE, ALEXANDER

• Friday, Sept. 30. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Sunday, Oct. 2. FREE FIRST SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Oct. 5. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN OF MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Thursday, Oct. 6. POST-PUNK: GRIST, DEADBEAT CLUB

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

• Monday, Oct. 10. FILM SCREENING: “ALL THE PRESIDENT’S MEN”

• Tuesday, Oct. 11. FILM SCREENING: “ELMER GANTRY”

• WEdnesday, Oct. 12. ROCK/BLUES: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Oct. 14. CELTIC/APPALACHIAN: REELIN’ AWAY

• Sunday, Oct. 16. FILM SCREENING: “DR. STRANGELOVE…” (2 PM)

• Sunday, OCt. 16. KLEZMER JAM (6 PM)

• Thursday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE KOREY BRODSKY BAND

• Friday, Oct. 21. BLUEGRASS/POP: JACKSON’S ISLAND

• Saturday, Oct. 22. JAZZ JAM with ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE MALTESE FALCON”

• Wednesday, Oct. 26. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 27. CELTIC AMERICA: THE EBIN-ROSE TRIO; SINGER-SONGWRITER:  DOUGLAS ALAN

• Friday, Oct. 28. HALLOWEEN SILENT FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT PLAYS TO “NOSFERATU”

• Sunday, Oct. 30. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE”

• Sunday, Nov. 6. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE ASPHALT JUNGLE”

• Thursday, Nov. 10. ALT-COUNTRY: SEPIATONE

• Friday, Nov. 11. FERNANDO PINTO PRESENTS JESSE TERRY & CALLAGHAN

• Sunday, Nov. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE AFRICAN QUEEN” (1 PM)

• Sunday, Nov. 13. KLEZMER JAM (6 PM)

• Saturday, Nov. 19. JAZZ JAM with ALLEN LOWE

• Friday, Nov. 25. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: DAVE PETERSON (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

Wine tasting Wed., Oct. 15, 6 PM, with Bob Feinn of Mt. Carmel Wine & Spirits

Bob_Feinn_France_map_WebNot many wine proprietors actually go to France and walk through the fields and towns of Bordeaux and other regions in search of rich and delicious bargains on wine. But that’s what wine expert Bob Feinn of Mt. Carmel Wine & Spirits does.

Feinn returns to Best Video on Wednesday, Oct. 15, for a tutorial and wine tasting. Feinn has presented wine tastings before at the store and the events have been well-attended, educational and—most important—fun. The cost for this event is only $20 and seating is limited. Call Best Video at (203) 287-9286 for reservations. Attendees should plan to gather in the Best video Performance Space at 6 PM and the tasting will start promptly at 6:15.

For this tasting, the focus will be on French wines. Hors d’oeuvre will be available and are included in the event price.

Don’t miss this one. Reservations are very strongly recommended. This is a great opportunity to learn about and stock up on quality affordable wines, guided by the advice of an expert.

Mediterranean wine tasting with Bob Feinn Wed., Nov. 13, at 6 PM—Reserve your place now!

Wine expert Bob Feinn of Mt. Carmel Wine & Spirits returns to Best Video on Wednesday, Nov. 13, at 6 PM for a tutorial and wine tasting. Feinn has presented wine tastings twice before at the store and the events have been well-attended, educational and—most important—fun. The cost for this event is only $20 and seating is limited. Call Best Video at (203) 287-9286 for reservations.

Bob_Feinn_mediterranean_sea_Web

The theme this time is good, affordable wines from the Mediterranean countries: France, Italy and Spain. Mediterranean-themed hors d’oeuvre will be available and are included in the event price.

Don’t miss this one. Reservations are very strongly recommended. This is a great opportunity to learn about and stock up on quality affordable wines, guided by the advice of an expert.

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Thursday, Nov. 7. GARAGE FOLK: ELISON JACKSON

• Monday, Nov. 11. FILM SCREENING: “THE SEARCHERS”

• Wednesday, Nov. 13. WINE TASTING with BOB FEINN FROM MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Thursday, Nov. 14. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ILANA ZSIGMOND

• Wednesday, Nov. 20. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Thursday, Nov. 21. APOCALYPTIC POP: THE GRIMM GENERATION

• Wednesday, Dec. 4. FOLK MUSIC: WRY BRED

• Thursday, Dec. 5. GARAGE ROCK/POP: HAPPY ENDING featuring BEST VIDEO’S OWN RICHARD BROWN & HANK HOFFMAN

• Wednesday, Dec. 11. WORLD MUSIC/FOLK: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Thursday, Dec. 12. JAZZ: DAVID CHEVAN

• Thursday, Dec. 19. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU

Wine tasting with Bob Feinn of Mt. Carmel Wine & Spirits rescheduled to Wed., Nov. 13—Reserve your spot now!

NOTE: This post has been updated to reflect the fact that the upcoming wine tasting with Bob Feinn has been rescheduled to Wed., Nov. 13, at 6 PM.

Wine expert Bob Feinn of Mt. Carmel Wine & Spirits returns to Best Video on Wednesday, Nov. 13, at 6 PM for a tutorial and wine tasting. Feinn has presented wine tastings twice before at the store and the events have been well-attended, educational and—most important—fun. The cost for this event is only $20 and seating is limited. Call Best Video at (203) 287-9286 for reservations.

Bob_Feinn_mediterranean_sea_Web

The theme this time is good, affordable wines from the Mediterranean countries: France, Italy and Spain. Mediterranean-themed hors d’oeuvre will be available and are included in the event price.

Don’t miss this one. Reservations are very strongly recommended. This is a great opportunity to learn about and stock up on quality affordable wines, guided by the advice of an expert.

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Oct. 2. ACOUSTIC BLUES: CORNBREAD

• Thursday, Oct. 3. PARKER’S TANGENT: ROCK

• Monday, Oct. 7. FILM SCREENING: “THE SECRET IN THEIR EYES”

• Wednesday, Oct. 9. ACOUSTIC ROCK: HENRY SIDLE

• Thursday, Oct. 10. GARAGE SOUL: BRONSON ROCK

• Monday, Oct. 14. FILM SCREENING: “PARADISE NOW”

• Wednesday, Oct. 16. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Thursday, Oct. 17. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT

• Monday, Oct. 21. FILM SCREENING: “FURY”

• Wednesday, Oct. 23. CLASSICAL: RAVENNA MICHALSEN & ALEXANDER SMITH

• Thursday, Oct. 24. INDIE ROCK: THE STREAMS

• Monday, Oct. 28. FILM SCREENING: “CAPE FEAR” (Original version)

• Wednesday, Oct. 30. LOCAL LEGENDS/NEW WAVE: THE FURORS

• Monday, Nov. 4. FILM SCREENING: “IN THE BEDROOM”

• Wednesday, Nov. 6. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ESTHER GOLTON

• Thursday, Nov. 7. GARAGE FOLK: ELISON JACKSON

• Wednesday, Nov. 13. WINE TASTING with BOB FEINN FROM MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Monday, Nov. 11. FILM SCREENING: “THE SEARCHERS”

• Thursday, Nov. 21. APOCALYPTIC POP: THE GRIMM GENERATION

Wine Tasting with Bob Feinn of Mt. Carmel Wine & Spirits Wed., Jan. 16, at 6 PM

Wine expert Bob Feinn of Mt. Carmel Wine & Spirits will preside over a fun tutorial and tasting of French wines on Wednesday, Jan. 16, at 6 PM. When Bob Feinn presented a tasting of Italian wines last fall (see photos below), it was a great event. Don’t miss this one. Reservations are very strongly recommended.

Bob_Feinn_BV_wine_tasting

The cost for this event is only $20 and seating is limited. Call Best Video at (203) 287-9286 for reservations.

BV_wine_tasting_October_2012

Classic French films will be shown on the Performance Space flatscreen TV and light hors d’oeuvres will be served.