Music: Mercy Choir CD release show for new “Upturned in Everest” Sat., Sept. 14, with accompaniment by Dr. Caterwaul’s Cadre of Clairvoyant Claptraps

Paul Belbusti of Mercy Choir (along with some special guests) will perform his new album “Upturned In Everest” with New Haven shapeshifters Dr. Caterwaul’s Cadre of Clairvoyant Claptraps at Best Video Performance Space on Saturday, Sept. 14. This is the only scheduled performance, so mark your calendars. The show starts at 8 PM. Advance tickets are $8 (plus service charge) at BrownPaperTickets.com; tickets at the door are $12.

Pre-order the album at Mercy Choir’s Bandcamp page.

Weeks before his 40th birthday, Belbusti will release his most fully realized and strongest album yet, Upturned in Everest (out August 16, Dead Language Records). The first single is the hand-clapping, existential rave-up “Do You Know What I Mean?” and features contributions from Erik Elligers (Goodnight Blue Moon), Lys Guillorn (Lys Guillorn & Her Band), and Kierstin Sieser (Tiny Ocean).

Other highlights include the dark and humorous walk on the wild side, “A Weight Has Been Lifted,” the perfect pop nugget “Needles and Vinegar,” the electro–acoustic epic “The Muted,” and the hypnotic closer “My Own Sort of Bargain.”

Aside from contributions from those mentioned above, the 12 track album was written, performed, recorded, and mixed by Belbusti. It was mastered by Todd Tobias (Guided By Voices, Circus Devils). For the twelve track collection, Belbusti reflects on aging, loss, love, and navigating the 21st Century as an artist who began his work in the 20th.

Belbusti frantically worked on the album for about a year in his new home studio, which is a shed/art studio in his back yard in Guilford, CT. In between recording, he watched baseball, painted approximately 100 paintings, and ruminated on the deaths of several of his songwriting peers. Explains Belbusti, “I feel thankful to be here making the work I want to make. A long time ago, I made my own sort of bargain with something, somewhere. I promised to behave and to be kind as long as I would always be able to write songs until my days were done. Something like that. So far, so good.”

New Haven’s Mercy Choir is the musical outlet of singer-songwriter, poet, and painter Paul Belbusti. Since the inception of his project in the mid-2000s, Belbusti has been exceptionally prolific with his main act (never mind his work as one-half of the experimental group Rivener), releasing of albums and EPs that dabble in various genres like Americana, baroque pop, and lo-fi experimentation.

Click here for the complete list of upcoming events.

Music: Shawn Taylor & Wandering Roots CD release this Fri., May 12, at 8 PM

Singer-songwriter Shawn Taylor and his band Wandering Roots return to Best Video Performance Space this Friday, May 12, for a CD release show for their new record “Balance.” The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Shawn Taylor.

It’s been almost four years since the release of “Home” and so much has happened since then to change many notions of “home.”

Shawn Taylor says:

“Balance,” the new original song collection, is an exploration of the eternal search for balance in life. It’s also just fun. We had a lot of fun making it and I hope you’ll have just as much fun listening. I can also say with great confidence, that this is the finest piece of art I’ve ever created, thanks to the wonderful musicians, artists, family and friends I’ve been blessed with.

It features a balance of songs from my stripped down solo/duo troubadour sound, to the grooving intensity of the Wandering Roots band. In the tradition of our ‘wandering roots’ genre, it also meanders down different avenues of Americana, from Appalachia to reggae, rock to gospelesque a cappella, to blues, to folk to country, to time-bending finger-picking compositions.

The CD packaging and Logo (shown above) was designed by Matthew Miklus.

“Balance” was recorded, mixed and mastered at Long Hill Recording in Shelton, CT by Paul Opalach. 2016-17. It features The Wandering Roots band —Shawn Taylor (songwriting, vocals, acoustic guitars, banjo, piano), Jim McKeeman (acoustic and electric guitars), Nicholas Defala (Electric Bass), and Nick Long (drums)—along with friends Paul Opalach (electric bass, harmonium, percussion), Patrick Haddon (upright bass), and Lee-Ann Lovelace (vocals).

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, May 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, THE FURORS

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Saturday, May 13. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• • Sunday, May 14, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Wednesday, May 17. POP: THE RACKET DOWNSTAIRS

• Friday, May 19. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA, LYS GUILLORN (solo)

• Sunday, May 21, 3 PM. LIGHTS! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Thursday, June 1. INDIE ROCK: IF JESUS HAD MACHINE GUNS

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN WITH JOE CARTER & TIM MORAN

• Sunday, June 4, 3 PM. CAMERA! ACTION! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Wednesday, June 7. ALT-COUNTRY: LEFT ON SCARLET STREET, SINGER-SONGWRITER: RON SPEARS

• Thursday, June 8. WORLD MUSIC: ELEGANT PRIMATES

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE, BOX OF BIRDS, THE PROUD FLESH

• Saturday, June 10. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, June 15. FOLK/POP SINGER-SONGWRITER: MELODY PLACE

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Wednesday, June 21. PROGRESSIVE FOLK: FE FI FO, SINGER-SONGWRITER: KRIZTA MOON

• Thursday, June 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND; CONTEMPORARY CLASSICAL MUSIC: THE CHRIS CHILDS TRIO

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, July 21. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANA MERRITT

• Wednesday, July 26. MUSIC FROM “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRES OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, July 28. WORLD MUSIC: NEELA

• Wednesday, Aug. 2. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Sept. 29. FLASH FICTION LITERARY READING: PAUL BECKMAN & FRIENDS

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

Music: CD release show for Jeff Fuller & Friends jazz trio Wed., June 29

Fuller_1_WebThe jazz group Jeff Fuller & Friends plays the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, June 29. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

The event celebrates the release of the new CD “Shoreline Blues” by Fuller’s jazz trio, Jeff Fuller & Friends. Bassist Fuller is joined by Darren Litzie on piano and Ben Bilello on drums.

Whether performing on stage and in clubs, teaching jazz and coaching ensembles, or composing and arranging in his home studio, Jeff Fuller brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to all his musical endeavors.

An integral part of the Connecticut, New York and international jazz scenes, Fuller toured worldwide and recorded with saxophonists Lou Donaldson and Paquito D’Rivera. He has played with jazz masters from all styles and eras including such diverse artists as Dizzy Gillespie, Mose Allison, “Papa” Jo Jones, Gerry Mulligan, and Clark Terry.

Fuller is one of the most sought after jazz bassists in Connecticut, and currently leads his own ensembles in many jazz venues. In September, 2014, he was awarded the annual Jazz Haven Award, “For all you have done in presenting and preserving the culture and music of jazz.”  Fuller plays the Upton Hawkes Hybrid double bass, and a Ken Smith 6-string bass guitar.

CD_Shoreline_Blues_coverimage

The history of the jazz piano/bass/drums trio is an encyclopedia of many volumes and entries. Remarkable bassist/composer Jeff Fuller’s new CD Shoreline Blues is an outstanding new contribution to that storied legacy, building upon the foundation he laid with his acclaimed 2015 release The Call From Within. The trio – called Jeff Fuller & Friends – was established in 2014 with pianist Darren Litzie and drummer Ben Bilello, and over that time has established that special level of synergy that results in seemingly telepathic interplay. That empathy is in full evidence on every track of Shoreline Blues.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, June 24. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH, ALT-COUNTRY: LINES WEST

• Sunday, June 26. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY BILLY WILDER (“STALAG 17”)

• Monday, June 27. BEER CLASS WITH MAX FINNANCE OF SIXPOINT BREWING; MUSIC: STEVE RODGERS

• Tuesday, June 28. “THE NUTS AND BOLTS OF MAKING A MOVIE”—A FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS

• Wednesday, June 29. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS CD RELEASE SHOW

• Thursday, June 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: QUINN HARLEY, LILIANA MALDONADO

• Friday, July 1. POST-PUNK: TELEGRAM SCAM, SPECTRAL FANGS

• Sunday, July 3. FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, July 6. STAND-UP COMEDY SHOW

• Thursday, July 7. JAZZ: MICHAELA COPPOLA & AMANDA BELLITTO

• Friday, July 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOSÉ OYOLA, REBECCA KESSLER OF VIOLENT MAE (SOLO)

• Saturday, July 9. FILM SCREENING: A DARK ROOM FILM FEST WITH TONY JULIANO

• Sunday, July 10. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY BILLY WILDER (“WITNESS FOR THE PROSECUTION”)

• Monday, July 11. FILM SCREENING: “REMEMBER”

• Wednesday, July 13. ROCK: HOLIDAY PING

• Thursday, July 14. SINGER-SONGWRITER/INDIE ROCK: DANIELLE CAPALBO

• Friday, July 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER: KATH BLOOM, BOP TWEEDIE

• Monday, July 18. FILM SCREENING: “LIFEBOAT”

• Wednesday, July 20. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARMS STRING BAND

• Thursday, July 21. JAZZ: BRETT BOTTOMLEY

• Friday, July 22. FOLK: HOMEMADE JAM

• Sunday, July 24. INDIE, HIP-HOP: RUNNING LAPS & NATHAN CORP, THE FOREST ROOM, CHEF THE CHEF, ZAK G.

• Monday, July 25. FILM SCREENING: “ACE IN THE HOLE”

• Wednesday, July 27. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS PRESENTS THE MUSIC OF ENNIO MORRICONE

• Thursday, July 28. DIY/EXPERIMENTAL: PAINTED FACES, BIG NURSE

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Monday, Aug. 1. FILM SCREENING: “THE TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Aug. 3. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, Aug. 4. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: THE NAMELESS TRIO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, EARTHLINGS

• Monday, Aug. 8. FILM SCREENING: “MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION”

• Wednesday, Aug. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE, TINY OCEAN

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING: “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL