Music: New monthly klezmer jam at BVFCC Sun., Oct. 16, 6 PM

2016-oct-klezmer-jam-poster-bw-04_webLed by Christina Crowder and the Secret Bunker Klezmer Band, a new monthly klezmer jam series (The Whitneyville Mechanical Klezmer Jam) begins at Best Video Performance Space on Sunday, Oct. 16, at 6 PM. This event is free and both listeners and performers are encouraged to attend.

The Whitneyville Mechanical Klezmer Jam is open to musicians of  all ages who play acoustic instruments. The focus will be on learning and playing European and American klezmer tunes by ear in a more-or-less traditional style. Please feel free to bring sheet music if it will help you remember how to lead a tune. The first hour (6—7 PM) will be a learning session with the month’s jam leader, who will teach one or two new tunes by ear. From 7—8:30, it will be an open jam.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• WEdnesday, Oct. 12. ROCK/BLUES: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Oct. 14. CELTIC/APPALACHIAN: REELIN’ AWAY

• Sunday, Oct. 16. FILM SCREENING: “DR. STRANGELOVE…” (2 PM)

• Sunday, OCt. 16. KLEZMER JAM (6 PM)

• Thursday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE KOREY BRODSKY BAND

• Friday, Oct. 21. BLUEGRASS/POP: JACKSON’S ISLAND

• Saturday, Oct. 22. JAZZ JAM with ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE MALTESE FALCON”

• Wednesday, Oct. 26. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 27. CELTIC AMERICA: THE EBIN-ROSE TRIO; SINGER-SONGWRITER:  DOUGLAS ALAN

• Friday, Oct. 28. HALLOWEEN SILENT FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT PLAYS TO “NOSFERATU”

• Saturday, Oct. 29. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “SPIRITED AWAY” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Sunday, Oct. 30. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE”

• Thursday, Nov. 3. ROCK: ROPE, THE TOMMYS

• Saturday, Nov. 5. AMERICANA: MATT WHEELER, GOODNIGHT BLUE MOON DUO

• Sunday, Nov. 6. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE ASPHALT JUNGLE”

• Thursday, Nov. 10. ALT-COUNTRY: SEPIATONE

• Friday, Nov. 11. FERNANDO PINTO PRESENTS JESSE TERRY & CALLAGHAN

• Sunday, Nov. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE AFRICAN QUEEN” (1 PM)

• Sunday, Nov. 13. KLEZMER JAM (6 PM)

• Thursday, Nov. 17. LITERARY READING: ALICE MATTISON

• Saturday, Nov. 19. JAZZ JAM with ALLEN LOWE

• Wednesday, Nov. 23. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: DANIEL BACHMAN

• Friday, Nov. 25. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: DAVE PETERSON (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Nov. 26. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE INCREDIBLE JOURNEY” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Thursday, Dec. 1. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: GLENN ROTH

• Friday, Dec. 9. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY BAND (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Friday, Dec. 16. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Saturday, Dec. 17. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE GOONIES” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)