Music: Ravenna Michalsen and Alexander Smith to play classical compositions Wed., Oct. 23

Ravenna_Michalsen_Alexander_Smith_at_BV_72dpiCellist Ravenna Michalsen and double bass player Alexander Smith will present a program of classical music in the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Oct. 23. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover charge for the event is $5.

Ravenna Michalsen is a private cello teacher who has been playing and performing for fifteen years. She has released three albums of original music and toured across the United States and Malaysia as a singer of Buddhist music. Ravenna holds two degrees from Yale University and also performs with an electronic musician.

A graduate of SUNY Fredonia and the Yale School of Music, Alexander also served as Performer in Residence at Carnegie Mellon University. He has led an active performing career as soloist, orchestral and chamber musician across the North Eastern United States. Notable collaborations include the Orchard Park Symphony and American Baroque Orchestra as principal bassist, the Canton Symphony (OH) as substitute principal bassist, the Southern Tier Symphony as bassist and jazz soloist, Connecticut Chamber Virtuossi Orchestra, New Britain Symphony, the Erie Philharmonic (PA), Southern Tier Symphony, Fifth House Ensemble (Chicago, IL), Jasper String Quartet, the Linden String Quartet with pianist Peter Frankl, Pearl City Jazz Quintet, Straight No Chaser Jazz Quintet, and the Alexander Smith Jazz Trio. Alexander also served as the music director of the Yale Tango Orchestra, giving workshops in southern CT public Schools and holds a degree in Music Education. He currently resides and performs in New Haven, CT.

Among the possible compositions in the evening’s program are Frank Bridge’s “Meditation” and “Spring Song;” a solo bass piece by Gyorgy Kurtag called “Signs, Games and Messages;” “Treizieme Concert A Deux Instruments” by Couperin and Jay Ungar’s “Ashokan Farewell.”

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Monday, Oct. 14. FILM SCREENING: “PARADISE NOW”

• Wednesday, Oct. 16. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Thursday, Oct. 17. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT

• Monday, Oct. 21. FILM SCREENING: “FURY”

• Wednesday, Oct. 23. CLASSICAL: RAVENNA MICHALSEN & ALEXANDER SMITH

• Thursday, Oct. 24. INDIE ROCK: THE STREAMS

• Monday, Oct. 28. FILM SCREENING: “CAPE FEAR” (Original version)

• Wednesday, Oct. 30. LOCAL LEGENDS/NEW WAVE: THE FURORS

• Monday, Nov. 4. FILM SCREENING: “IN THE BEDROOM”

• Wednesday, Nov. 6. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ESTHER GOLTON

• Thursday, Nov. 7. GARAGE FOLK: ELISON JACKSON

• Monday, Nov. 11. FILM SCREENING: “THE SEARCHERS”

• Wednesday, Nov. 13. WINE TASTING with BOB FEINN FROM MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Thursday, Nov. 14. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ILANA ZSIGMOND

• Wednesday, Nov. 20. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Thursday, Nov. 21. APOCALYPTIC POP: THE GRIMM GENERATION

• Thursday, Dec. 5. PSYCHEDELIC POP: HAPPY ENDING featuring RICHARD BROWN & HANK HOFFMAN from BEST VIDEO

• Thursday, Dec. 19. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU

Music: Orphée Russell on classical guitar Thurs., July 18, at 8 PM

Orphée_Russell_at_Best_VideoOrphée Russell wowed the audiences in the Best Video Performance Space the two times he has played here. An award-winning graduate of the Neighborhood Music School in New Haven, Russell currently attends the Eastman School of Music. Russell plays classical guitar. The music starts at 8 PM. The cover charge for this show is $5.

A sampling of quotes from some prominent classical guitarists about Russell’s performance in the juried student recital at the National Guitar Workshop in the summer of 2010:

“Very poetic performance-you have a musical presence” — Julian Gray,  recording artist and faculty, Peabody Institute at Johns Hopkins  University

“Beautiful tone and sense of legato…Very lovely and expressive  playing” — Adam Holzman, recording artist and faculty, University of  Texas at Austin

“You have such a wonderful sense of phrasing / timing – very mature  musically…You are a beautiful young player” — Martha Masters,  recording artist and faculty, Loyola Marymount University

“You brought a lot of poise and depth of feeling to this performance”  — Marc Teicholz, recording artist and faculty, San Francisco  Conservatory

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Wednesday, July 10. ACOUSTIC FOLK: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Thursday, July 11. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Wednesday, July 17. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Wednesday, July 18. CLASSICAL GUITAR: ORPHÉE RUSSELL

• Monday, July 22. FILM SCREENING: “ARRANGED”

• Wednesday, July 24. SINGER-SONGWRITER/INDIE: SAMUEL BASS, KEVIN MF KING

• Thursday, July 25. AVANT-GARDE_IMPROVISATION: FUCHSPRELLEN, COLORGUARD

• Monday, July 29. FILM SCREENING: “INTRUDER IN THE DUST”

• Wednesday, July 31. INDIE PSYCH/POP: M.T. BEARINGTON

• Thursday, Aug. 1. IMPROVISATION/WORLD MUSIC: SUPER TRANCE

• Monday, Aug. 5. FILM SCREENING: “ONLY HUMAN”

• Wednesday, Aug. 7. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Aug. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ILANA ZSIGMOND

• Monday, Aug. 12. FILM SCREENING: “CRASH”

• Wednesday, Aug. 14. GARAGE ROCK/PUNK: THE ESTROGEN HIGHS

• Thursday, Aug. 15. JAZZ: THE NICK Di MARIA QUARTET

• Monday, Aug. 19. FILM SCREENING: “THE WAR WITHIN”

• Monday, Aug. 26. FILM SCREENING: “THE OTHER SON”

 

Music: The Haven String Quartet with Sambeleza play Thurs., Apr. 4, at 8 PM

The Haven String Quartet joins Sambeleza, one of New Haven’s finest jazz and Brazilian music ensembles, for an evening of Brazilian Bossa Nova music at the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Apr. 4. Admission is $5 and the music starts at 8 PM.

The string quartet arrangements (created by Sambeleza bassist Jeff Fuller) include several well-known songs by Tom Jobim (including “Desafinado,” “Girl From Ipanema,” “One Note Samba,” “Corcovado” and more) as well as works by composers Ivan Lins, Janet de Almeida and Haroldo Barbosa.

As the permanent quartet-in-residence of Music Haven, the Haven String Quartet’s mission is to integrate music and creative endeavor into community life. The quartet provides access to free music education and world-class chamber music performances to residents in New Haven’s most underserved neighborhoods. In conjunction with these activities, the Haven String Quartet actively performs in other communities, providing engaging performances in traditional concert halls and reaching new audiences in non-classical venues.

HSQ_0146_Web

Each quartet member is an exemplary performer who also enjoys the work of a teaching artist. They have graduated from such institutions as Yale University, Juilliard School, New England Conservatory, Rice University, and Longy School of Music, and enjoy successful careers as performers and teachers.

Yaira Matyakubova and Tine Lee Hadari are the Quartet’s resident violinists. Colin Benn and Matt Beckmann, respectively, are resident violist and resident cellist for the Haven String Quartet.

The musicians of Sambeleza are outstanding U. S. and Brazilian interpreters of the great songs of the bossa nova and samba traditions, as well as outstanding jazz artists in their own right. Sambeleza derives its name from two words: samba, the national dance of Brasil, and beleza, Portuguese for “beauty.” The Sambeleza lineup for this show is Isabella Mendes (piano, vocals), Jeff Fuller (bass, vocals) and Joe Carter (violão).

Sambeleza_at_BV_112112_72dpi

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Apr. 10. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Thursday, Apr. 11. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Apr. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ESTHER GOLTON

• Monday, Apr. 22. FILM SCREENING FOR “WHAT WOULD YOU DO?” SERIES: “WALK ON WATER”

• Thursday, Apr. 25. JAZZ: THE NICK Di MARIA QUARTET

• Sunday, May 5. FILM SCREENING & DISCUSSION: “ALL ME: THE LIFE AND TIMES OF WINFRED REMBERT”

• Wednesday, May 8. INDIE ROCK: POOLS ARE NICE, BUCK McGRANE

Music: Ravenna Michalsen & Alexander Smith on Wed., Feb. 13, at 8 PM

Ravenna_Michalsen_Alexander_Smith_WebCellist Ravenna Michalsen and double bass player Alexander Smith will present a program of early music and classical music in the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Feb. 13. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover charge for the event is $5.

Michalsen and Smith will be playing a series of Bach inventions, two early music duets and a Rossini duet for cello and double bass.

Ravenna Michalsen is a private cello teacher who has been playing and performing for fifteen years. She has released three albums of original music and toured across the United States and Malaysia as a singer of Buddhist music. Ravenna holds two degrees from Yale University and also performs with an electronic musician.

A graduate of SUNY Fredonia and the Yale School of Music, Alexander also served as Performer in Residence at Carnegie Mellon University. He has led an active performing career as soloist, orchestral and chamber musician across the North Eastern United States. Notable collaborations include the Orchard Park Symphony and American Baroque Orchestra as principal bassist, the Canton Symphony (OH) as substitute principal bassist, the Southern Tier Symphony as bassist and jazz soloist, Connecticut Chamber Virtuossi Orchestra, New Britain Symphony, the Erie Philharmonic (PA), Southern Tier Symphony, Fifth House Ensemble (Chicago, IL), Jasper String Quartet, the Linden String Quartet with pianist Peter Frankl, Pearl City Jazz Quintet, Straight No Chaser Jazz Quintet, and the Alexander Smith Jazz Trio. Alexander also served as the music director of the Yale Tango Orchestra, giving workshops in southern CT public Schools and holds a degree in Music Education. He currently resides and performs in New Haven, CT.

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Monday, Feb. 11. WHAT WOULD YOU DO? FILM SERIES: GONE BABY GONE

• Wednesday, Feb. 20. JAZZ: THE ELLIGERS BROTHERS BAND

• Thursday, Feb. 21. SINGER-SONGWRITER ROCK: THE STREAMS DUO

• Wednesday, Feb. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Thursday, Feb. 28. ART SONG WITH TUNED WINE GLASSES: JONNY RODGERS

• Wednesday, Mar. 6. BRAZILIAN MUSIC & JAZZ: SAMBELEZA with JEFF FULLER & ISABELLA MENDES

• Thursday, Mar. 7. INDIE ROCK: SIDEWALK DAVE

• Saturday, Mar. 9. ACOUSTIC CONTEMPORARY CHRISTIAN MUSIC: HADE & WILLIAMS

• Wednesday, Mar. 13. ACOUSTIC BLUES & ROCK: NOAH KESSELMAN

• Thursday, Mar. 14. WINE TASTING with KARL RONNE from THE WINE THIEF

• Wednesday, Mar. 20. JAZZ: DAVID CHEVAN

• Thursday, Mar. 21. INDIE GARAGE ROCK: GHOST OF CHANCE

• Sunday, Mar. 24. READINGS: JOEANN HART & MATT DEBENHAM

• Wednesday, Mar. 27. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU

• Thursday, Mar. 28. FILM SCREENING: STEPHEN DEST’S “MY BROTHER JACK”

• Wednesday, Apr. 3. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Thursday, Apr. 4. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, Apr. 11. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Apr. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ESTHER GOLTON

Music: Orphée Russell on Thursday, Jan. 10, at 8 PM

Orphée_Russell_at_Best_VideoOrphée Russell wowed the audiences in the Best Video Performance Space the two times he has played here. An award-winning graduate of the Neighborhood Music School in New Haven, Russell currently attends the Eastman School of Music. Russell plays classical guitar. The music starts at 8 PM. The cover charge for this show is $5.

A sampling of quotes from some prominent classical guitarists about Russell’s performance in the juried student recital at the National Guitar Workshop in the summer of 2010:

“Very poetic performance-you have a musical presence” — Julian Gray,  recording artist and faculty, Peabody Institute at Johns Hopkins  University

“Beautiful tone and sense of legato…Very lovely and expressive  playing” — Adam Holzman, recording artist and faculty, University of  Texas at Austin

“You have such a wonderful sense of phrasing / timing – very mature  musically…You are a beautiful young player” — Martha Masters,  recording artist and faculty, Loyola Marymount University

“You brought a lot of poise and depth of feeling to this performance”  — Marc Teicholz, recording artist and faculty, San Francisco  Conservatory

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Monday, Jan. 14. FILM SERIES: WHAT WOULD YOU DO? “STATE OF THE UNION”

• Wednesday, Jan. 16. BOB FEINN of MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS: FRENCH WINES TASTING

• Thursday, Jan. 17. ROCK: THE PEACOCK FLOUNDERS

• Wednesday, Jan. 9. ELECTRIC ROCK: MOLD MONKIES

• Wednesday, Jan. 23. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC & WORLD MUSIC: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Thursday, Jan. 24. TBA

• Wednesday, Jan. 30. TBA

• Thursday, Jan. 31. PSYCH/FOLK: PONYBIRD