Tonight! Mon., Aug. 4, at 7:30 PM: “The Real World of Downton Abbey,” a talk by Yale Prof. Mark Schenker

Downton Abbey fans! Enrich your experience of the hugely popular British series by coming to tonight’s talk by Yale Prof. Mark Schenker on “The Real World of Downton Abbey.” Prof. Schenker will delve into the social, political and literary contexts of the late 19th and early 20th century in England that helped shape the world depicted in the show.
DowntonAbbey_Mark_Schenker_Web
The talk starts at 7:30 PM and admission is $5.

For fans of “Downton Abbey”: Prof. Mark Schenker lectures on “The Real World of Downton Abbey” Aug. 4 at 7:30 PM

Can’t get enough of the popular British series “Downton Abbey?”

DowntonAbbey_Mark_Schenker_Web

Then come on down to the Best Video Performance Space on Monday, Aug. 4, at 7:30 PM. Mark Schenker, the Dean of Academic Affairs in Yale College, will give a lecture on the social, political and literary contexts of the late 19th and early 20th century in England that helped shaped the world depicted in the extraordinarily popular PBS series. There will be a $5 admission charge for this event.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, July 23. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PAUL BELBUSTI (MERCY CHOIR); LEILA CROCKETT (BABY G)

• Thursday, July 24. PROGRESSIVE FOLK ROCK: KINDRED QUEER

• Friday, July 25. EXPERIMENTAL GHOST POP: SIRENS

• Tuesday, July 29. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS AND HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, JULY 30, SOLO ACOUSTIC GUITAR: ROBERT MESSORE

• Thursday, July 31. ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Aug. 1. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI

• Monday, Aug. 4. LECTURE: MARK SCHENCKER DISCUSSES “THE REAL WORLD OF DOWNTON ABBEY”

• Thursday, Aug. 7. FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, Aug. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS (PONYBIRD); SAM PERDUTA

• Monday, Aug. 11. FILM SCREENING AND DISCUSSION: WITNESS

• Wednesday, Aug. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 14. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET

• Monday, Aug. 18. FILM SCREENING: DANNY SAYS (ROUGH CUT)

• Wednesday, Aug. 20. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 21. ROCK: ROPE

• Friday, Aug. 22. CABARET: RICH MORAN

• Thursday, Aug. 28. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Sept. 5. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Wednesday, Sept. 10. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Sept. 19. INDIE ROCK: EURISKO

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR