Music: David Elkin-Ginnetti on Fri., Aug. 1, at 8 PM

david_press_photo_july2014_WebDavid Elkin-Ginnetti plays the Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Aug. 1. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

David Elkin-Ginnetti is a musician and conceptual sound artist from New Haven, Conn. He plays saxophone, bass clarinet and various electronics. His music reflects an appreciation for improvisation, post-modernity and popular dance musics.

Recent compositional tactics include trans-medium contamination and chance-based composition via intentional obfuscation. This is David’s 2nd time performing at Best Video, following collaborative mixed-media performance “HAPPENING/NOW” in the summer of 2013. David will be studying music at Wesleyan University in the fall.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, July 25. EXPERIMENTAL GHOST POP: SIRENS; PROGRESSIVE ACOUSTIC ROCK: FE FI FO

• Tuesday, July 29. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS AND HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, JULY 30, SOLO ACOUSTIC GUITAR: ROBERT MESSORE

• Thursday, July 31. ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Aug. 1. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI

• Monday, Aug. 4. LECTURE: MARK SCHENCKER DISCUSSES “THE REAL WORLD OF DOWNTON ABBEY”

• Thursday, Aug. 7. FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, Aug. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS (PONYBIRD); SAM PERDUTA

• Monday, Aug. 11. FILM SCREENING AND DISCUSSION: WITNESS

• Wednesday, Aug. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 14. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET

• Monday, Aug. 18. FILM SCREENING: DANNY SAYS (ROUGH CUT)

• Wednesday, Aug. 20. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 21. ROCK: ROPE

• Friday, Aug. 22. CABARET: RICH MORAN

• Thursday, Aug. 28. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Sept. 5. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Wednesday, Sept. 10. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Sept. 19. INDIE ROCK: EURISKO

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR