Music: Jazz with The Elligers Brothers on Thurs., Sept. 25, at 8 PM

The Elligers Brothers Band returns to the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Sept. 25. The cover charge is $5 and the music starts at 8 PM.

IMG_0840_Web

Anchored by a rhythm section of Bill Morrison on upright bass and Lucas Apostoleris on drums, the Elligers Brothers Band features Erik Elligers on tenor sax, Sean Elligers playing trumpet and Kyle Elligers on piano.

The combo plays modern jazz, defined in this case by the post-World War II styles of bebop, hard bop and modal jazz. Their set last year included both originals and their own interpretations of songs by such masters as Duke Ellington, Thelonious Monk and Sonny Rollins.

The Elligers Brothers Band recorded live at the Best Video Performance Space last May performing Erik Elligers’ composition “Smiles and Cries”:

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Sept. 17. NEO-FOLK/RAGTIME: AMY KUCHARIK

• Thursday, Sept. 18. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Sept. 19. INDIE ROCK: EURISKO

• Wednesday, Sept. 24. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Sept. 25. JAZZ: THE ELLIGERS BROTHERS

• Friday, Sept. 26. INDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE, THE SHRINNIRS

• Sunday, Sept. 28. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “BECAUSE OF WINN-DIXIE”

• Monday, Sept. 29. FILM SCREENING: “A RIVER RUNS THROUGH IT”

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 2. ORIGINAL INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC/JAZZ: GEORGE LESIW BAND

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR

• Sunday, Oct. 5. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “FLY AWAY HOME”

• Monday, Oct. 6. FILM SCREENING: “CAST AWAY”

• Wednesday, Oct. 8. AMERICANA: GOODNIGHT BLUE MOON

• Thursday, Oct. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Sunday, Oct. 12. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “BABE”

• Monday, Oct. 13. FILM SCREENING: “CAPE FEAR” (Original)

• Wednesday, Oct. 15. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN of MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Sunday, Oct. 19. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ANNIE”

• Monday, Oct. 20. FILM SCREENING: “DELIVERANCE”

• Thursday, Oct. 23. CABARET/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Sunday, Oct. 26. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “SHORT CIRCUIT”

• Monday, Oct. 27. FILM SCREENING: “THE SWIMMER”

• Wednesday, Oct. 29. ECLECTIC POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, Oct. 30. “SONGS OF MISERY, DESPAIR & THE SUPERNATURAL”: DAVID, SHELDON AND GAIL

• Sunday, Nov. 2. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ABBOTT & COSTELLO MEET FRANKENSTEIN”

• Monday, Nov. 3. FILM SCREENING: “The NIGHT OF THE HUNTER”

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Thursday, Nov. 20. FILM SCREENING: “SEVEN DAYS IN MAY”

 

Elligers Brothers Band to play jazz Wed., Feb. 20, at 8 PM

The Elligers Brothers Band returns to the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Feb. 20. The cover charge is $5 and the music starts at 8 PM.

Sean_&_Erik_Elligers_Best_Video

Anchored by a rhythm section of Carl Testa on upright bass and Josh Gosselin on drums, the Elligers Brothers Band features Erik Elligers on tenor sax, Sean Elligers playing trumpet and Kyle Elligers on piano. According to Erik, some special guests may join them on a tune or two.

The combo plays modern jazz, defined in this case by the post-World War II styles of bebop, hard bop and modal jazz. Their set last year included both originals and their own interpretations of songs by such masters as Duke Ellington, Thelonious Monk and Sonny Rollins.

The Elligers Brothers Band recorded live at the Best Video Performance Space last May performing Erik Elligers’ composition “Smiles and Cries”:

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Thursday, Feb. 21. SINGER-SONGWRITER ROCK: THE STREAMS (DUO)

• Wednesday, Feb. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Thursday, Feb. 28. ART SONG WITH TUNED WINE GLASSES: JONNY RODGERS

• Wednesday, Mar. 6. BRAZILIAN MUSIC & JAZZ: SAMBELEZA with JEFF FULLER & ISABELLA MENDES

• Thursday, Mar. 7. INDIE ROCK: SIDEWALK DAVE

• Saturday, Mar. 9. ACOUSTIC CONTEMPORARY CHRISTIAN MUSIC: HADE & WILLIAMS

• Wednesday, Mar. 13. ACOUSTIC BLUES & ROCK: NOAH KESSELMAN

• Thursday, Mar. 14. WINE TASTING with KARL RONNE from THE WINE THIEF

• Wednesday, Mar. 20. JAZZ: DAVID CHEVAN

• Thursday, Mar. 21. INDIE GARAGE ROCK: GHOST OF CHANCE

• Sunday, Mar. 24. READINGS: JOEANN HART & MATT DEBENHAM

• Wednesday, Mar. 27. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU

• Thursday, Mar. 28. FILM SCREENING: STEPHEN DEST’S “MY BROTHER JACK”

• Wednesday, Apr. 3. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Thursday, Apr. 4. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, Apr. 11. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Apr. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ESTHER GOLTON