Music: Touring folksinger Danielle Ate the Sandwich on Mon., June 15, at 8 PM

Danielle Ate the Sandwich, Photo by Kaela Speicher

Danielle Ate the Sandwich, Photo by Kaela Speicher

Danielle Ate the Sandwich, aka Danielle Anderson, plays Best Video Performance Space on Monday, June 15. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5. Local multimedia group GlumPuppet opens.

Danielle Ate the Sandwich is the stage name of indie-folk, songwriter, Danielle Anderson. Danielle is best known for her homemade and quirky YouTube videos and her recent work, composing the original soundtrack to the HBO documentary film “Packed in a Trunk: The Lost Art of Edith Lake Wilkinson.” Her music career began modestly at open mic nights in Fort Collins, Colorado, and was unexpectedly jumpstarted by the popularity of her YouTube videos, which showcase her songs and silly personality. The true power of Danielle Ate the Sandwich, however, is her ability to sing stories both grand and small, with sweet vocals and thoughtful, honest lyrics. Danielle Ate the Sandwich has been touring nationally since 2009, cultivating a loyal and dedicated fan base, affectionately referred to as ‘Fanwiches.’

Danielle Ate the Sandwich has shared the stage and collaborated with acts such as Pomplamoose, Leo Kottke, Mumford & Sons & Suzanne Vega. She has released five independent albums, receiving praise from fans of all ages. Her latest release, “The Drawing Back of Curtains” serves as the soundtrack to the HBO documentary film “Packed in a Trunk: The Lost Art of Edith Lake Wilkinson.” Danielle currently tours the United States year round and is happily based in Fort Collins, Colorado.

The Denver Post says, “Danielle Anderson is a tender singer-songwriter, a brazen humorist, a fearless young woman. Performing as Danielle Ate the Sandwich, Anderson wields a ukulele, a guitar and her own words to tell stories about people.”

Denver’s Westword describes Danielle as, “cripplingly enchanting with lyrics telling the story of a generation coming of age in an age of uncertainty.”

GlumPuppet opens. A Connecticut-based duo (Drosh & Lana Peck), GlumPuppet bills itself as “esoteric modern vaudeville.” Performing member Lana Peck describes the entertainment as “general silliness” suited to adult audiences. The group uses video, music, puppets and spoken word to celebrate such cultural favorites as Game of Thrones, Harry Potter, Blade Runner, Star Trek, Dr. Who and more.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Monday, June 8. FILM SCREENING: “FINDING TATANKA”

• Wednesday, June 10. SINGER-SONGWRITER: KATH BLOOM, DAN GREENE

• Thursday, June 11. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS & THE CYGNET SISTERS

• Friday, June 12. BLUEGRASS: THE WOOL HATS STRING BAND

• Monday, June 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH, GLUMPUPPET

• Thursday, June 18: SILENT FILM with MUSIC: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT scores “THE CABINET OF DR. CALIGARI”

• Friday, June 19. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Wednesday, June 24. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA (CD RELEASE SHOW!)

• Thursday, June 25. CONTRA DANCE/FOLK: WRY BRED

• Friday, June 26. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Wednesday, July 1. ART SONG: TWINS OF EL DORADO; JAZZ: WORK AND WHY WE DO IT

• Friday, July 3. BLUEGRASS: THE DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Thursday, July 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: CHRIS PETERS

• Friday, July 10. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITER: DEEPER SLEEPER

• Friday, July 17. PIANO POP/PAINTING: POCKET VINYL

• Wednesday, July 22. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Friday, July 24. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: ANNE MARIE MENTA, SHELLYE VALAUSKAS

• Friday, July 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SAMUEL BASS

• Thursday, Aug. 6. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT

• Friday, Aug. 7. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Friday, Aug. 21. BLUEGRASS: FIDDLE FOREVER

• Tuesday, Aug. 25. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANGELA EASTERLING

 

Music/Multi-media: Pocket Vinyl, GlumPuppet on Fri., Aug. 15 at 8 PM

The multimedia groups Pocket Vinyl and GlumPuppet perform at the Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Aug. 15. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

pocket_vinyl_Web

Here’s the quick version of what and who Pocket Vinyl is: Eric Stevenson plays the piano while Elizabeth Jancewicz paints on stage. The paintings are then sold at every concert to the highest bidder. They’re married. They’re from New London, CT. They’ve released 3 albums, the most recent of which was “Death Anxiety” in 2013.  They invented the world’s first “MP” (short for “mini play”). They’re full time musicians working on a DIY level. They’re trying very hard to be your favorite band.

GlumPuppet, a Connecticut based duo (Drosh & Lana Peck), bills itself as “esoteric modern vaudeville.” Performing member Lana Peck describes the entertainment as “general silliness” suited to adult audiences. The group uses video, music, puppets and spoken word to celebrate such cultural favorites as Game of Thrones, Harry Potter, Blade Runner, Star Trek, Dr. Who and more.

GlumPuppetWeb45_Web
GlumPuppet began as a collaborative video channel on YouTube with founding members, Drosh, Lana and Jim Clark. Sadly, Jim passed away in 2013, but his videos and the channel live on. Since then, Drosh and Lana added a live music performance aspect to the project, where they incorporate a backdrop of videos from the channel, as well as costumed characters, Nosecrops and Ravenman.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Monday, Aug. 11. FILM SCREENING AND DISCUSSION: WITNESS with JUDITH STAVISKY

• Wednesday, Aug. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, SETH TIVEN

• Thursday, Aug. 14. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET

• Monday, Aug. 18. FILM SCREENING: DANNY SAYS (ROUGH CUT) with FILMMAKER BRENDAN TOLLER

• Wednesday, Aug. 20. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 21. ROCK: ROPE, JAMES VELVET

• Friday, Aug. 22. CABARET: RICH MORAN

• Thursday, Aug. 28. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Aug. 29. IMPROV COMEDY TROUPE: TINY DICTATOR

• Wednesday, Sept. 3. CARIBBEAN/POP: LUKE RODNEY

• Thursday, Sept. 4. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Friday, Sept. 5. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART (Just announced!)

• Wednesday, Sept. 10. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Sept. 12. CHORAL ROCK, INDIE ROCK: THE DRESS-UPS (CD RELEASE!), THE SAWTELLES (Just announced!)

• Thursday, Sept. 18. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED (Just announced!)

• Friday, Sept. 19. INDIE ROCK: EURISKO

• Wednesday, Sept. 24. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 2. ORIGINAL INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC/JAZZ: GEORGE LESIW BAND (Just announced!)

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR

• Friday, Oct. 10. INDIE ROCK: OLIVE TIGER (Just announced!)