Music: Hip hop show Thurs., Jan. 23, at 8 PM, with Sketch tha cataclysm, Murf, & Spark Kent

Hip hop acts Sketch Tha Cataclysm, Murf, and Spark Kent play Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Jan. 23. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is a sliding scale of $5-10 (pay what you can in that range.

Sketch tha cataclysm is an emcee/producer/poet out of New Haven, CT. For the past twelve years or so, Armando Acevedo has been performing as an MC/Producer under the name of Sketch tha cataclysm. In that time, he has released 14 projects and performed as a part of a 4 piece and up to an 11 piece hip-hop band as well as a pair of experimental art rock groups. Performing has taken him across the United States a number of times and has earned him acclaim locally and elsewhere. He also contributes as a writer to ok-tho.com & local band review. Sketch tha cataclysm will be backed up by Mo Niklz and Juliann Castelbuono.

Spark Kent is an independent Hip Hop artist based out of New Haven County, Connecticut. Best known for his witty and comical lyricism, this up and comer paints vivid mental scenes of life experiences over funky and gritty canvases reminiscent of 90’s Hip Hop.

Over the course of the last ten years, he has shared the stage opening up for the likes of Mac Miller, KRS-1, Joey Bada$$ / Pro Era, PROF, Machine Gun Kelly, Action Bronson, Wax / The Palmer Squares, R.A. The Rugged Man & AFRO x2, Shaggy (It Wasn’t Me), Bun B, Kirko Bangz, Felly, Chris Webby x3, Curren$y / French Montana, Riff Raff, Futuristic, Oncue, Kosha Dillz, Cam Meekins, Huey Mack, Chanel West Coast and more. Be on the lookout for his debut album Northern Hospitality dropping on all major platforms soon.

Click here for the complete list of upcoming events.

Film/Lecture: Thomas Wexler presents a screening and talkback on “‘I Have a Dream:’ The Civil Rights Generation, and Hip-Hop in the Social Unconscious” Wed., May 3

Thomas Wexler, M.A. American Studies, Bowling Green State University presents a screening and talkback on Wednesday, May 3, at 7 PM entitled “‘I Have a Dream’: The Civil Rights Generation, and Hip-Hop in the Social Unconscious.” This event is free.
Following the film, a talkback session will be held exploring contradictions, and distinctions between the Civil Rights Generation, and Hip-Hop culture. The film features Martin Luther King, Jr.’s “I Have A Dream” speech as well as freestyle rap selections by Biggie Smalls and the Notorious B.I.G.
Discussion will focus on “The Art of the Freestyle.”  “Freestyle,” and “Freestyling” as a buzzword in today’s Hip-Hop culture, and the various contexts in which “Freestyle” performance should historically be interpreted as part of politically motivated Hip-Hop “Struggle,” or activism.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Apr. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ZACH ANDERSEN, ACOUSTIC DUO: THE HOOCH

• Friday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE SLOCAN RAMBLERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “DO THE RIGHT THING”

• Tuesday, May 2, 4-7 PM. THE GREAT GIVE HAPPY HOUR

• Wednesday, May 3, 7 PM. FILM SCREENINGS & LECTURE/TALKBACK: THOMAS WEXLER ON “I HAVE A DREAM”: THE CIVIL RIGHTS GENERATION, AND HIP-HOP IN THE SOCIAL UNCONSCIOUS (Just added!)

• Thursday, May 4. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Sunday, May 7. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, May 7, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “THELMA AND LOUISE”

• Thursday, May 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, THE FURORS

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Saturday, May 13. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• • Sunday, May 14, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Wednesday, May 17. POP: THE RACKET DOWNSTAIRS

• Friday, May 19. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA, LYS GUILLORN (solo)

• Sunday, May 21, 3 PM. LIGHTS! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Wednesday, May 24. WORLD MUSIC: ELEGANT PRIMATES

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Thursday, June 1. INDIE ROCK: IF JESUS HAD MACHINE GUNS

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN WITH JOE CARTER & TIM MORAN

• Sunday, June 4, 3 PM. CAMERA! ACTION! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE, BOX OF BIRDS

• Saturday, June 10. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, June 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND; CONTEMPORARY CLASSICAL MUSIC: THE CHRIS CHILDS TRIO

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, July 21. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANA MERRITT

• Wednesday, July 26. MUSIC FROM “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRES OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, July 28. WORLD MUSIC: NEELA

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

Music: Indie & hip-hop with 5 acts on Sun., July 24, at 6 PM

Indie_hip_hop_show_072416_WebIt’s an indie rock and hip-hop spectacular on Sunday, July 24, at Best Video Performance Space. Running Laps & Nathan Corp headline, supported by In Response, Chef the Chef, The Forest Room, and Zak G. Doors are at 6 PM and the cover is $5.

Running Laps & Nathan Corp offer up gritty-sounding noise punk rap-infused performance art presented with a corporate theme drawing from science fiction and dystopian concepts.

In Response approaches a mixture of indie rock and emo from a harder-edged perspective than most of their peers. In doing so, they’ve managed to carve out their own unique space within a highly saturated genre. Their songs are often both delicate and abrasive, displaying strong control over dynamics and nuance. Hayes’ vocals are pensive and somber, sporting a somewhat melancholy delivery, not unlike alt-rock legends Radiohead. But every so often, Hayes’ voice soars into an intense growl, bearing an emotional intensity reminiscent of Modern Life Is War and The Hope Conspiracy.

From hip-hop blog OK-Tho: “Connecticut underground beast on the rise Chef (pronounced like Keff) the Chef just dropped the 3 track Friends EP for us to enjoy. The Friends EP features appearances by his alias Heart Eyes and Fedo. Put it on and rock it for your many friends. I predict this MC/Producer has a lot of great work ahead of him.”

The Forest Room is the acoustic solo project by Matt Streit which began in 2004 as a casual musical outlet outside of his main band. An active musician from Milford, CT for many years, mainly as a bass player in heavy metal and rock bands, Matt takes a completely different approach with the Forest Room by writing most of the music on acoustic guitar, utilizing multiple layers of guitar parts with live record looping, and occasionally incorporating produced beats. Matt uses several guitar effects pedals, some of which he built himself. The Forest Room combines influences and elements of instrumental, folk, ambient, hiphop, and triphop music.

Zak G is a rapper, producer, illustrator, and viking warlord from Connecticut. Prone to sway on the grittier and noisier side of things, both his music and artwork conjure up bleak yet sarcastic post apocalyptic imagery. His beats are just as influenced by punk and industrial as they are by Def Jux era hip hop, and his rapping aggressive, cynical, and often times abstract.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, July 13. ROCK: HOLIDAY PING

• Friday, July 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER: KATH BLOOM, BOP TWEEDIE

• Monday, July 18. FILM SCREENING: “LIFEBOAT”

• Wednesday, July 20. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARMS STRING BAND

• Thursday, July 21. JAZZ: BRETT BOTTOMLEY

• Friday, July 22. FOLK: HOMEMADE JAM

• Sunday, July 24. INDIE, HIP-HOP: RUNNING LAPS & NATHAN CORP, THE FOREST ROOM, CHEF THE CHEF, ZAK G.

• Monday, July 25. FILM SCREENING: “ACE IN THE HOLE”

• Wednesday, July 27. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS PRESENTS THE MUSIC OF ENNIO MORRICONE

• Thursday, July 28. DIY/EXPERIMENTAL: PAINTED FACES, BIG NURSE

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Monday, Aug. 1. FILM SCREENING: “THE TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Aug. 3. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, Aug. 4. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: THE NAMELESS TRIO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, EARTHLINGS

• Monday, Aug. 8. FILM SCREENING: “MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION”

• Wednesday, Aug. 10. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Thursday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT

• Wednesday, Aug. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE, TINY OCEAN

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING: “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

The Forest Room , Chef the Chef perform Thurs., Oct. 1, at 8 PM

Trip-hop artist The Forest Room (aka Matt Streit) and hip-hop MC Chef (pronounced “Keff”) the Chef play Best Video Performance pace on Thursday, Oct. 1. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5. This will be an open floor show to encourage dancing.

the_forest_room_at_shebeen_Web

The Forest Room is the acoustic solo project by Matt Streit which began in 2004 as a casual musical outlet outside of his main band. An active musician from Milford, CT for many years, mainly as a bass player in heavy metal and rock bands, Matt takes a completely different approach with the Forest Room by writing most of the music on acoustic guitar, utilizing multiple layers of guitar parts with live record looping, and occasionally incorporating produced beats. Matt uses several guitar effects pedals, some of which he built himself. The Forest Room combines influences and elements of instrumental, folk, ambient, hiphop, and triphop music.

“I’ve been writing this music to create something that is relaxing for me as well as be something to occasionally groove and dance to.  Over the years, it has evolved into the live performance setting with more elaborate looping and occasional lighting.  I want to share these vibes.”

Chef_the_Chef_Web

As for Chef the Chef, hip-hop blog OK-Tho had this to say: “Connecticut underground beast on the rise Chef (pronounced like Keff) the Chef just dropped the 3 track Friends EP for us to enjoy. The Friends EP features appearances by his alias Heart Eyes and Fedo. Put it on and rock it for your many friends. I predict this MC/Producer has a lot of great work ahead of him.”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Sept. 18. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, CHRIS KILEY

• Wednesday, Sept. 23. ROCK: MAD RIVER CITY

• Friday, Sept. 25. INDIE ROCK: THE RIGHT-OFFS

• Wednesday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANGELA EASTERLING

• Thursday, Oct. 1. TRIP HOP: THE FOREST ROOM, HIP-HOP: CHEF THE CHEF

• Friday, Oct. 2. ROCK: HOLIDAY PING

• Monday, Oct. 5. FILM SCREENING: ELIHU RUBIN’S & ELENA OXMAN’S “ON BROADWAY”

• Wednesday, Oct. 7. ROCK ‘N” ROLL: THE BUTTONDOWNS

• Thursday, Oct. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI, BEN PARENT

• Friday, Oct. 9. JAZZ: THE JOVAN ALEXANDRE TRIO

• Wednesday, Oct. 14. INDIE ROCK: CHRISTOPHER MIR

• Thursday, Oct. 15. SOLO GUITAR/CD RELEASE: GLENN ROTH

• Friday, Oct. 16. TOURING SINGER-SONGWRITERS: LINDA WATERFALL, DEAN STEVENS

• Wednesday, Oct. 21. ROOTS ROCK: BRONSON ROCK

• Thursday, Oct. 22. GARAGE SOUL: ELISON JACKSON

• Friday, Oct. 23. ALT-COUNTRY: TANNERSVILLE

• Thursday, Oct. 29. SYNTH POP/ROCK: MISSION ZERO

• Friday, Oct. 30. HALLOWEEN SILENT FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Wednesday, Nov. 4. OLD TIMEY/SWING: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Friday, Nov. 6. RAGTIME/BLUES: THE RED HOTS

• Wednesday, Nov. 18. FILM SCREENING: THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE (1962)