Music: Zambonis to offer hockey rock Thurs., May 23, at 8 PM

The hockey rock band The Zambonis will play the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, May 23. The cover charge is $5 and the music starts at 8 PM.

Few rock bands have been featured in both Sports Illustrated and Billboard. Few have played both punk-rock clubs and hockey arenas like Madison Square Garden. Few have appealed to fans young and old. But the quirky 100% hockey-rock Zambonis have somehow prevailed—impressing music snobs, sports freaks and critics simultaneously.

The Zambonis formed in 1991 as a group that played nothing but songs about hockey. What started as a fun “little thing” is now the most popular sports-rock band in North America. Explaining the band’s unique style, Captain Dave Zamboni says, “We’re the only band in the world whose two biggest influences are The Beatles and Wayne Gretzky!”

Commenting on the disc, the Los Angeles Times wrote, “Slapstick meets slapshots…For the true hockey fan, this is a must. For the casual fan, it’s still one big smile.” While Billboard added, “They have a sense of humor about themselves…A timely and surprisingly appealing release.” Time Out New York chimed in, anointing the band “the Pearl Jam of hockey rock.”

Watch The Zambonis’ official video for their song “I’m a Puck”:

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Sunday, May 19. MUSIC, IMAGE & SPOKEN WORD: MARK SABA & TOM IZZO

• Thursday, May 23. HOCKEY ROCK: THE ZAMBONIS

•Thursday, May 30. ACOUSTIC FOLK: ROBERT MESSORE

• Wednesday, June 5. PUNK/BLUES: SPACE ORPHANS

• Thursday, June 6. INDIE ROCK: ELISON JACKSON

• Monday, June 10. FILM SCREENING: “SAVING HUBBLE”

• Wednesday, June 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANNA AYRES-BROWN

• Thursday, June 13. INDIE ROCK: THE MOUNTAIN MOVERS

• Wednesday, June 19. CABARET: RICH MORAN

• Thursday, June 20. INDIE POP: THE FURORS, AL HOWARD

• Wednesday, June 26. INDIE ROCK: THE JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, June 27. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: FRANK CRITELLI, MARK MIRANDO

• Wednesday, July 10. ACOUSTIC FOLK: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Thursday, July 11. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS